You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: #BonsaiNews: Some will call it murder, I called it grace

in #bonsai5 years ago

I tried to reply to this but I kept getting an error, and the comment was lost. I think Steampeak dropped my login.

Anyway, here are two images I painted using your tree as a guide.

upward.png

downward.png

Personally, I think I would be fun to train this tree into a cascade tree, removing a large branch every year or two. Eventually it would resemble a waterfall cascading down multiple rock steps, and making for an ancient looking tree. In the upward style, I would let multiple trunks grow, and train the lateral branches to form a traditional cloud shaped dome, and perhaps some lower tiered branches too to look like a delicate downward stream.

Sort:  

Thanks for the awesome feedback. I honestly didn't think about that. This monster is quite heavy at the moment so I am concerned about it popping out of the bucket.

Think I could maybe create a support system with some of the nearby pillars using some rope and wire to allow it to get into that cascade position and perhaps cut a shape into another bucket which I could then cover the other bucket with and then add more soil which should further weigh down on the trunk, adding more counter weight.

I really love the cascade idea. Initially, I didn't think it would be very much possible at the moment but, I'll definitely see what I can get going at the moment.

Will make for a cool follow up article. Thanks a million.

Bury the whole thing, pot and all, into a pile if it's wobbly.

Good luck taming the monster.

Thanks, I certainly need it. It's not wobbly as much as it is very heavy and lacking the support from most of the roots now being gone. I'll see what I can get done.

I have to go and collect a younger bougainvillea now which I completely forgot about. Can't remember the exact name of the species but, it's got that lovely pale grey/white wood with the soft pink flowers.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67920.11
ETH 3854.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69