You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: #Writing: This is what I've been up to during the last few weeks

in #bonsai6 years ago

Nice work.

One of my first jobs was in college. I worked for the student newspaper as their webmaster. All the editors staff would stay up all night to layout the paper and rush it to the printers. Then they would give it to me the next day, and I would use Dreamweaver to replicate the articles into a similar looking web view. The last webmaster made it easy for me, so all I had to do was copy/paste the entire html layout design, and just change the images and text content.

It was a lot of work to make something that looks like the same nice layout the editors designed, and getting it done fast might take many hours with few breaks. Emails also came flooding to me from subscribers asking the news team to fix things they read. Eventually I started building an archive of all the old issues, so alumni who bought subscriptions would stop contacting me about issues they never got to read. Gah! Building a web archive of news articles, does that count as blockchaining before anyone knew what a blockchain was?

Glad to hear from you again. I was starting to wonder where you went.

Sort:  

It actually is a lot of work indeed, much the reason why I've been MIA these last few weeks. Most mornings now get me into the office around 4am and only see me going home around 6pm.

Last week Monday I got into the office at 4am and only left the next morning around 2am. Had to finalise the paper and I was super far behind thanks to a lot of fresh news coming in and, also because I didn't save any of the progress on the pages and somehow InDesign decided to crash. As for web-based copies, we tend to just upload standard .PDF files so that makes it a lot easier.

We also unfortunately still run layout of the entire paper manually as we follow a modular layout - something most newspapers nowadays don't do. Really makes reading of the paper that much easier but not so much in terms of how time consuming it can be to create the pages. I should be writing content more often now as things are starting to settle down again.

You should see all the latest bonsai and some of the older one's progress. I'll be getting an article up on it tomorrow. I'm really excited, my Chinese Elm was basically dead and now, somehow, has been brought back to life. The amount of back-budding the last week has been phenomenal. Bob the ficus ginseng has also come back into his former self and has a few good looking branches which should be getting wired soon.

And one of my oldest junipers will finally lose its last wire this weekend - it has been wired for just under a year actually, way longer than I intended for it to be but it is really looking good. Will get some good shots of all the plants and do a proper post in the morning. Thanks for popping by.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63156.26
ETH 3071.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86