A Passion for Bonsai

in #bonsai6 years ago

IMG_20170923_192836_871.jpg

Good morning, afternoon and evening from me in England!


Now that the evenings are drawing in and the temperatures are dipping, my Bonsai will need some protection soon. I have a small tunnel that will be the ideal place away from those biting North winds and impending frosts.


The decidious trees will lose their leaves soon, but the evergreens will need an autumn pruning.
I've really neglected them this year since joining Steemit, Whaleshares and Discord but they have all survived the really warm summer and will no doubt enjoy some cooler and wetter weather.


IMG_20181008_184401.jpg

The Chinese Elm will need a good hard pruning before being taken inside.


IMG_20171009_194051_crop_697x628-348x314.jpg

My Lonicera Nitida Baggesens Gold is an evergreen and will stay this way until the warmer months bring on the next growth spurt.


IMG_20171008_202321.jpg

A Juniper evergreen in training.
It will need a trim soon, and happily live outside this winter.


IMG_20170925_203857.jpg

My Fushcia has now flowered and will soon shed its leaves ready for its winter sleep.


15390212750426693358002860714785.jpg

The Ash and Birch will soon be bare again.
They are still holding onto their leaves though and are really healthy little trees.


IMG_20170622_235358_718.jpg

A beautiful Ash with an interested trunk.


IMG_20171214_233627_838.jpg

And finally, a privet cutting made last year.
I sold this tree during the summer and really want it back now! Don't fear, I have 3 more in the go that we're successfully air layered from the mother shrub in our garden.


Thanks for checking out my post!
Have a great week whatever you're doing.
DC


All Photography Copyright © 2018 Darren Claxton

Sort:  

Your mini trees are beautiful. I have no idea about bonsais bit have a small oak tree I call Pikku Tammi Small Oak

Hey Pris!
Thanks for your comment!
I would love an Oak Tree Bonsai!
They are one of the most desirable of trees!
I hope you're keeping well?
DC

I've tried keeping bonsai trees in the past, but my luck hasn't been very good with them. I think I neglect them too much.

Nice trees. Thank you for sharing. Can’t wait to see more. 👍🏻

Never before have I seen a fuschia in tree form before. Do you have to keep it temperature controlled? Mine always die back down to the soil level ever year. Probably has to be a certain variety. Or maybe my mother always cuts back the dead stems, because she dislikes untidy plants, so it never has a chance to thicken up.

Welcome to #bonsai on steemit. We are a small community hear, but we love to share and support each other. Keep an eye out on other bonsai posts with original content to meet the rest of us. You've been here a while, but I'm glad to see you post more bonsai.

Hi there.
Fushcia are rather Hardy shrubs and respond well to Bonsai techniques.
You can bring it indoors for winter but I like to harden mine off over winter in the poly tunnel. The trunk on mine is impressive.
They are also good to airlayer from a large mother plant but that's best done in early Spring.
Cut the bark in a ring 2 inches wide and remove the cambium layer. Wrap in spaghnum moss, wet and sprinkle some rooting hormone on the wound, then wrap in bubble wrap or cling film.
Should grow roots in 6 weeks!
This technique is great and you can get an impressive trunk nebari fairly quickly.

Thanks for the tips. Does your poly tunnel stay above freezing?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64400.33
ETH 3140.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.93