You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What I learned about leisure time from The Joy of Not Working by Ernie Zelinski

in #book-summaries4 years ago

@wcy, so many of us have lived according to the "prepare for the future" belief that you describe, thinking that if I work hard now, I will not have to work as hard later. While it is important to think about the future, living for the future prevents us from really being present in our life now. I have learned that even if you do everything "right," nothing is guaranteed - pensions disappear, relationships change, health can fade. These life lessons have lead me to spend my time and money on what I really value, which means spending less time and money on what I do not value. This mindset created a natural decrease of expenses to only what I really value - i.e. what is necessary. I am curious to know how the changes that you are making are impacting your life. As you make changes, how do you feel about your new life? Thank you for sharing this interesting read 🌱

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 69266.11
ETH 3871.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72