2019-03-06: Book Report

in #book5 years ago

Learning Vue.js 2

By Olga Filipova

Instead of waiting till I completely read a book since I do not have that much time to read an entire book with in a week; I decided to break down my reviews to reports. To start, I am currently reading Learning Vue.js 2 by Olga Filipova from Packt Publishing. I got this book from their daily free book giveaways, and along with hundreds of others.

In this book, Olga will teach Vue.js in different aspects of the JavaScript framework, and as she takes you through each section you are building along two, separate apps: a grocery list, and a Podomoro Timer which is basically a work and rest alarm. Unlike some other Packt books, I rather like this approach in teaching people how to learn a language or framework and that is building on a project unlike the “cookbook” aspect where you have simple, multiple projects that is one and done after each chapters. Granted, there are Packt books that specify it will be a cookbook.

When it comes to Packt books, I do not find them that engaging, and even with the author outgoing personality I do have a hard time paying attention as I read as I tend to think a little too much about each of the subjects. That might be a good thing, but if I want to learn each of the topics then it is best to pay attention. Plus, I have been dabbling with Vue.js previously, and the reading material is redundant, and I am not learning that much. I might pick up a specific detail once in a while, but it is review.

I am covering right now is Vuex, or the Vue.js store. This is where you can store the information about the application, and the current environment. I’ll admit, I really should pay attention to this section as I am currently working on this aspect with my Ionic 4 project, and I am still not getting the subtle definitions of getters and actions. I am still reading this chapter as of this posting.

Previous chapters covered the Vue directives like v-if, v-show, and v-for, and when I started learning Vue.js; I already get how they worked with my experience with Ionic’s own version of the modified Angular directives. Each of the mainstream frameworks such as Angular, Vue, and maybe React and Ember (I have no experience in either of those two) you can easily translate one syntax to another syntax much like any other programming language. If anything, you just have to learn the unique caveats that separate each of the frameworks and/or languages.

Please feel free to post a comment about this report; perhaps a better definition of Vuex would be nice as I feel my interpretation is not fully correct.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Thank you so much for being an awesome Partiko user! We have just given you a free upvote!

The more Partiko Points you have, the more likely you will get a free upvote from us! You can earn 30 Partiko Points for each post made using Partiko, and you can make 10 Points per comment.

One easy way to earn Partiko Point fast is to look at posts under the #introduceyourself tag and welcome new Steem users by commenting under their posts using Partiko!

If you have questions, don't feel hesitant to reach out to us by sending us a Partiko Message, or leaving a comment under our post!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62934.09
ETH 3118.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85