Redeemed From the Ashes—Chapter 29—New Beginnings

in #book5 years ago

While on the shop and street I gazed 

My body of a sudden blazed; 

And twenty minutes more or less 

It seemed, so great my happiness, 

That I was blessed and could bless.

W. B. Yeats
Vacillation

Chapter 29

“You found him!” Clyde said in amazement. “That is wonderful! It is so good to finally meet you, sir. I have heard many things about you in return.”

“I hear you are good with numbers. Would you like to show me?” Carl asked.

Clyde scuttled over to his bed and waved Carl over. 

Carl sat beside him as he watched Clyde work at his arithmetic.“Evelyn wasn’t exaggerating at how good you really are!”

Carl and Clyde—they bantered back and forth, both so much at ease with each other. Clyde was fascinated with him.“What do you do, sir?”

“Well, before the explosion, I was an editor for the Halifax Gazette. In trade, I’m a writer. One day, I plan to write a history of the recent events which have engulfed our city.”

“Really? That would be jolly good. I would be the first one to read it, I promise.”

“I’ll remember that. I would very much appreciate another’s opinion before I submit it to the hungry wolves.”

“Do you mind my asking, sir, what the war was like when you were a part of it?”

A part of it, how true. The war would always be a part of him no matter how hard he tried to release it from his memory. He would have to embrace the trials he had gone through and not fight them. The way Clyde had asked with his blue eyes larger and deeper than the original well from which he drew his extreme sincerity caused Carl to relay the exact truth to his questioner and himself.

“No, I do not mind at all.”

While Carl talked about the different tactics which he and his band of men had used to capture German trenches and about the victories that the Canadians had claimed, Clyde’s face was fully enraptured with what he was listening to. “Is it hard for you to say these things, sir, to talk about your experiences?”

“Yes, it is, but life is hard. One cannot change this fact. One can work with it.”

“I understand. Evelyn, I was wondering, what happened to Doctor MacCrae? I haven’t seen him for two days.”

“You weren’t at his home two days ago when...he left?”

“No, what do you mean? I was out playing with some of the lads. When I was done, I returned to the house, but no one was there. I decided to come here and wait for him. I haven’t seen him since.”

Both Carl and Evelyn looked at each other, both knowing of Gerald’s tragic fate.

Evelyn spoke, “Clyde, I am so sorry you have been given cause to worry about the well being of another and yourself. You should not have had to go through this hardship. Gerald has been taken away to prison. I am truly sorry I did not seek you out sooner than I did.”

“Prison? What for? It’s not because of me is it?”

“No, Clyde, it is not you. Doctor MacCrae was...a German spy. He only did this to help provide for his family in Scotland.”

Clyde was stunned into silence. His good friend—he would never see him again. Clyde had heard rumours of German spies actively residing in Halifax, but he never believed it until now. “I cannot believe it.”

“It is true. I was there myself when they took him away.”

Clyde looked to Carl. “Evelyn and Doctor MacCrae were good friends.” 

“Yes, I know that.”

“He was so good to me.”

“He loved you, Clyde. Do not doubt it.” Evelyn fervently whispered.

“I don’t. Do you think I could have a few moments to myself to pray forDoctor MacCrae?”

“Of course,” Evelyn replied. “We will return in about half an hour.”

***

Evelyn led Carl to the Public Gardens. She refrained from bringing him to the bench near Egg Pond she had always shared with Gerald. Instead she steered clear of that very private area of her life and led him to the Upper Bridge. “What are you thinking, Carl?”

“He is an extraordinary boy! He truly is! I see why you love him so much. I see why you want to adopt him.”

She clutched his hands tightly, excitement building inside. She hoped he would say yes.

“What would you like?” Carl put his arms around her shoulders. 

“I...would like to adopt him.”

“Are you sure?”

“Yes.”

“All right then. I believe we shall have a son.”

“Ahh!” She screamed in delight, jumping to hold onto Carl. “Thank you, thank you, thank you. Oh, I love you.”

“Now, I cannot promise you everything will go smoothly. We’ll probably have to do some paperwork and deal with some authorities, but...I think we’ll make it through.”

“Oh, I am so happy. I can barely speak.”

They held unto each other like so for the rest of the time. Evelyn could not wait any longer to tell Clyde what they wanted to do. She knew that Clyde would love to live with them He was a young boy who needed parents, who needed love. Both Carl and she were more than willing to give this.

So excited was she that she had to restrain herself not to run back into his room and shout out the news at the top of her lungs. She knocked on his door softly.

“Come in!”

“Hello, Clyde. Carl and I...we have something to tell you.”

“What is it?”

“We want to adopt you. We would like you to be our son.”

“You would be my father and mother?”

“Yes, if that is what you would like.”

“Really? You would do that for me?”

“I would do anything for you.”

He ran up to both of them and tried to wrap his small arms around them.“I would love to come live with you.” All of a sudden a shyness stole over him. “Does that mean I may call you father and mother?”

“Yes,” Evelyn said with tears streaming down her cheeks.

“You will come live with us in the countryside and go to school there. We will feed you and clothe you. We will care for you,” Carl announced. “But we must first file you for adoption. Once we have done that and they have accepted, you will come with us.”

“It’s a dream come true,” Clyde effused. 

***

A few weeks later, all the paperwork and interviews with the board in charge of finding homes for orphaned children had been done, and Clyde had become their son. They had bought the quaint cottage in the country and were now doing minor repairs to the dilapidated house. Clyde enjoyed helping Carl with renovations while Evelyn painted the porch white in the hot afternoon sun. They had become a strong family. Loving each other was first and foremost in their minds. 

One day, as Evelyn stroked her paintbrush up and down one of the porch posts, she thought of her mother and how she had not seen her in a long while. During supper, she asked Carl, “Do you think we could go visit my mother tomorrow? I have written to her of our house purchase, and she knows about Clyde. She would very much like to meet him. Do you think we could take a break from our house duties and make a special trip into Dartmouth?”

“I think we can do that. What do you say Clyde? Would you like to see your grandmother?”

“Yes, I would very much like to.” Clyde stuffed a spoonful of peas in his mouth. “I never knew my original grandparents. I think this grandmother is very special.”All retired after supper to get a goodnight’s sleep. 

***

Early the next morning, everyone prepared themselves for a long journey. They dressed, brought some fare for transportation, doffed their hats, and strolled outside. As they rumbled in the coach from the countryside to the city, Clyde was having a hard time sitting silently in his seat. He looked out the window and pointed at all the wonders presenting themselves outside. He chattered on about how he was excited to go back to school and learn other subjects than the mathematics. He had already met some boys and girls his age in the town nearby.

Carl also relayed to Evelyn the requirements and duties of his job as a writer to the local town newspaper. On the side, he had started to write his nonfiction manuscript. She listened, enraptured by his passion for writing. Once they arrived in Richmond, they walked to the ferry. There they saw John, tying knots in his ropes. “John!”

“Good morning, neighbours! Come on in. We’ll be leaving in ten minutes. Tell me how it’s going at Meadow Stream.” Meadow Stream was the name they had given their house. There was a large meadow situated in the front of the house with a stream snaking through it.

“We’re off to see my grandmother!” shouted Clyde in excitement.

“Well, now. I hope you have a grand time.”

The whole trip to Dartmouth was spent with the Richardson family conversing with John. John informed them his brother was doing well, and he was going to visit him in two days.“I insist you come, as well,” John said.

“We will if only you’ll let me help you cook,” Evelyn replied.

“All right. You always know how to weaken my resolve.”

“Of course.”

Once they reached the other shore, they bid John farewell and walked to Mrs. Moore’s home. They opened the gate. Clyde’s mouth dropped open as he took in the breathtaking sight of the beautiful gardens blooming graciously under Mr. Thompson’s hand. They knocked upon the door and waited for the maid to answer.

“Oh, hello, Mr. and Mrs. Richardson, Master Richardson, come in.” She led them into the parlour where there sat Mrs. Moore. 

She turned from her sunbath and gazed at the happy family standing before her. “Good morning, Evelyn, Carl,” she hugged each one. “Clyde, my grandson, it is a pleasure to finally meet you.”

“The pleasure is all mine, Grandmother.”

“Oh, and he has such manners,” remarked Mrs. Moore.

“We can thank his deceased parents for such good training,” Evelyn responded.

“Come, shall we have some hot tea and hot cross buns?”

The whole visit was a splendid one. No ill words were said between mother and daughter, mother and son-in-law. Happiness reigned there that day. 

***

On the way back, they passed by Evelyn’s old apartment to check in on Betsie. However, she wasn’t there. She was still working at the hospital. “Carl, Clyde, go on back home without me. I would really like to see Betsie. I’ll wait until she comes back. I’d like to visit with her for a little while. Once I’m done, I’ll return home.”

“Come on, Clyde. Shall we?” Carl nudged him toward the door. 

“Goodbye, Mother, be careful when you come back.”

“I will.”

She placed a peck upon Clyde’s head and kissed Carl fully on the lips. Evelyn made herself at home until Betsie arrived at five o’clock in the afternoon. She came into her apartment and skittered sideways when she saw Evelyn sitting on her sofa.

“Hello, Betsie.” Evelyn rose from her seat and with arms wide open.

“Hello, Evelyn. It is good to see you. What...? I’ve been thinking about you these days. The apartment is a lot more empty with you gone, but now you have a family! Tell me about it.”

So Evelyn indulged Betsie with tales of calm family life.

“I would love to have my own family one day.”

“Do you not have Rupert?”

“Yes, I do, but he hasn’t asked me anything yet. Maybe he never will.” 

“Do not be so quick to doom your future. He may ask at the most unexpected time.”

“I’m sure you’re right. Oh, I must tell you—how shall I say this? The hospital is auctioning off all of Gerald’s things. His books, his microscope, desk, everything—it will all be auctioned off next Saturday. I thought you might want some of his things.”

“Thank you for telling me. I don’t believe I have room for...keepsakes.” More of Gerald’s objects in her life? She wasn’t so sure if she could handle the memories.

Sort:  

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61769.55
ETH 2910.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64