THE WILDERNESS EXPERIENCE

in #book5 years ago

I had a relative working for one of the ministries. He was a big fish who had invested largely in real estate.
.
One day I needed money to buy a book. I hurried to his office and was quite glad to have met him alone in the office. He was calm with legs spread tiredly on the table.
.
"Good afternoon Sir," I said politely and sat on the couch.
.
He returned my greeting with a mere wave of the hand.
.
I was just going to tell him my problems when he simply pointed at the refrigerator and said I should help myself with a bottle of Coke. I took the drink and proceeded to tell him my problems. I said I needed money to buy some books.
.
In that calm mien he reminded me that he was only a civil servant and that things were bad for his ilk.
.
He told me his own pathetic story and made me feel glad to accept the fifty naira note he gave me.
.
Months later, I was there again and a similar scenario played out again.
.
After the second visit I vowed never to go see him again. But that was feeble threat. One day on my way to school I decided to check on him. A bottle of coke at least wasn't entirely a bad idea.
.
His secretary was grinning from ear to ear.
.
"Your uncle is in." He announced.
.
But no sooner had my foot stepped in than my ears got shocking vituperative remarks from my kinsman.
.
"You again!" he fired and literally took a dive from his seat towards me. "The last time you came I gave you fifty thousand Naira. Don't tell me you are here again for money."
.
Engulfed in bewilderment, I let my gaze float around the office in a broken circle. That was when I saw the ladies. Beautiful girls, three of them a shade older than me.
.
Momentarily it struck me that the soon-to-be sexagenarian was putting up all that drama just to impress his guests. I sensed that he wasn't expecting me to let him down.
.
Lowering my eyes I improvised. "I am sorry to bother you again uncle. I had an accident in Keffi with the Nisan Altima you bought for me and I need just twenty five thousand naira to fix it... "
.
My line obviously was impressive because I noticed a glow spread across his face. The glow the girls could not have seen. Only the two of us with our Creator knew that we were both cheesy liars.
.
He fired in retaliation to my earlier remark.
.
"You see!" he spread out his hands. "If you can't use that vehicle, go and park it at home. The ones I gave to your cousins are still in good condition."
.
One of the girls remarked admiringly that he was not only rich but extremely generous. The others nodded in support and my kinsman beamed in excitement.
.
"About fifty of them are on scholarship and I take care of them all." He bragged. Turning to me, he quickly added: "Go to my secretary to give you a cheque of thirty thousand naira ."
.
He opened his drawer and pulled out a wrap of fifty naira notes and flung it at me. "Add this for your fare. "
.
Five thousand naira for my Waka-pass role. My first ever Nollywood movie!
.
Of course his secretary gave me nothing but I was like a king when I walked out of of his office with my treasure that afternoon.
.
I have no idea what became the fate of those girls but I will be forever grateful to them for making it possible for me to buy a lot of books : some of which are still in my collection.
.
THE WILDERNESS EXPERIENCE by Japheth Prosper

NB: This book will be released this month, book for a copy

Sort:  

Congratulations @markology! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Are you a DrugWars early adopter? Benvenuto in famiglia!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Congratulations @markology! You received a personal award!

Happy Steem Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61649.11
ETH 3003.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77