#PinkReads - All The Books: January 2020

in #book4 years ago

PicsArt_02-24-06.33.34.jpg

Well, we survived January... barely!

I find myself quite fortunate that, even during the leanest month of Janu-worry, I was able to get some new books; to be honest, I actually went on my holiday break with the intention (and budget) to buy at least one book - because it may have been the only book for the month... you know?

Behind The Lens by Nasirah Kathrada

2020-02-24 06.18.02 1.jpg

This book actually arrived right at the end of December but I forgot to add it to the December list facepalm

Nasirah was only fifteen years old when her book, Behind The Lens, was published - what an incredible achievement!

"A must-read for those wanting a deeper understanding of people's everyday sufferings." ~Azhar Vadi, Salaamedia

Poetry that creates a deeper understanding of the people of Syria suffering from war and poverty - read more on GoodReads.

Many thanks to the author, Nasirah Kathrada, for sending me a copy.

Sorcery Of Thorns by Margaret Rogerson

2020-02-24 06.17.53 1.jpg

The very first book that came into my possession is this beautiful hardback copy of Sorcery Of Thorns, which I found at a used book store right on the beach!

How awesome is that?!?

Unfortunately, it wasn't the first book I read, but I grabbed it at the first opportunity I got and I loved it!!!

Now I really want to get my hands on An Enchantment Of Ravens.

You can find my full review here or on Goodreads!

From The Publishers

What could possibly be better than coming home from an awesome holiday to find packages waiting for you?

Many thanks to Jonathan Ball Publishers for sending me an amazing package again for January; included, this time, they sent me:

The Disasters by M K England
The Good Luck Girls by Charlotte Nicole Davis
With The Fire On High by Elizabeth Acevedo
We Set The Dark On Fire by Tehlor Kay Mejia
The Andromeda Evolution by Daniel H Wilson & Michael Crichton
Spice Girls by Sean Smith

PicsArt_02-27-09.59.08.png

Oh, my word, I can hardly wait to read these; the Spice Girls were my all-time favourites during their time and We Set The Dark On Fire is queer - but I have many books in the queue and I guess we'll see how it goes.

Happy reading!!!!

Follow me :-
Instagram : https://www.instagram.com/mr.pink.ink/
Blog : https://mrpinkink.wordpress.com/
YouTube : https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCuumD6wq7NSNfDwu03mxUNw/featured

Member : @teamsouthafrica #teamsouthafrica
Member : @steemsouthafrica #steemsa

Sort:  

Congratulations @mrpinkink! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 5000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 6000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61672.72
ETH 2996.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78