RAMBLING THOUGHTS ON WRITING, A BOOK REVIEW, AN ENDING AND TRADING

in #book6 years ago

So today is Friday the 14th already. The month is almost done. It has been raining incessantly and it's damned cold to boot. I got lucky last night with the mosquitoes, I hid under the wrapper I use as a blanket and let all my nose out of the protection. They buzzed and buzzed, those infernal things but they found nothing egress so I slept peacefully but it was damned cold.

I also managed to write about 1000 plus words in that disaster I call a story. I have introduced several new characters now and romance and more magic and hidden agendas; dreary stuff. If I get to 10,000 words, that will be awesome. I hope I find the strength to get to that point.


I am reading Esselmont's A Novel of The Malazan Empire. I am on the third book, Stonewielder. It has been an interesting read so far but not like Malazan Chronicles though. What I really question is the way every character is made to seem more than they really are but we never get to see them as they truly are. Lots of innuendos but no actual evidence.


images.jpeg
source


Take Greymane for example, what is the sword, the ancient artefact that he fights with? Or the late Empress Laseen (I never really knew her. I doubt if any reader did), she is like an afterthought in the scheme of things, despite her obvious skill. What is her story? What about Edgewalker? Who is he? And why does he throw people out of the shadow Warren but cannot seem to touch Dancer or Kellenaved?

Lol, too many questions eh? That is the beauty of the series though. The unfinished nature of each character. After all, we can never truly know a man, can we? We always keep something behind, hidden, private.

I enjoy the setting though, dark, pitiless, depressing. There's always mud, rain, darkness, blood and gore. What's not to love eh? If you have not tried this series, I suggest you do so. It is quite refreshing our heroes can be villains and heroes again and how good people die easy.


Today I feel a bit low though as @aschatria informed me of her decision to shut the @steemrepair server down. It is painful because steemrepair is one of the earliest communities I join when I started blogging on this platform.

I had just been banned by @writersblock for disagreeing with them over editing, when @aschatria approached me and I joined the server. It was a great place truly. She always had new innovative ideas as well as information for members. It is just unfortunate that I never could invest time in the server.

So this is my shout out to @aschatria. Thank you for the love and the good times. I wish you a the best in all your endeavours and we will cross paths from time to time on other spaces, so it is not goodbye. Say me well to that parrot too.


Before I go, my trading looks hopeful. I just might make some money this year, eh? Need to get my parents something for Christmas. They've been awesome. Lol

Well that's that. Enough of the rambling. I will see you later. I have to find a reason to leave this bed. Peace.

#steemrepair


©warpedpoetic, 2018

Sort:  

I enjoy the setting though, dark, pitiless, depressing. There's always mud, rain, darkness, blood and gore.

Sounds like my kind of book @warpedpoetic. I may check it out.

Man you got kicked from TWB too. That's shit, it was a little mental over there when I was kicked as well.

Before I go, my trading looks hopeful. I just might make some money this year, eh? Need to get my parents something for Christmas.

Glad to hear the trading is going good. That's some skills in this market :-)

You should definitely try it. Though it is not as impressive as The Malazan Chronicles, it is still a good read. At least it gave me insight to the past as well as the future of some certain characters.

TWB kicked you out? Wow. Yeah it does hurt. The trade is going poorly this night and I am at loss but we will definitely get le parents something for Christmas eh?

Thanks. Everything is ok, Steemrepair will continue information boost to community, just not though the server anymore. As for me I have too much on my plate at all times, so there is nothing to complain from my side. Keep doing the great job. And get out of that bed.

Hahaha... Not found a reason yet. When I do, I'd probably go offline. Do be safe.

Hi @warpedpoetic!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.466 which ranks you at #6483 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 434 contributions, your post is ranked at #159.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62934.09
ETH 3118.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85