Book Club: Calling All Book-Lovers!

in #bookclub6 years ago

Hello Steemians!

Are you someone who finds enjoyment by getting lost in the infinite number of worlds that books are able to introduce us to? Well, if that's the case, then we have something in common!

Reading has always played a big role in what I do in my free time. It's because of this fact that I thought it would be fun if I started a sort of "book club". In this club, I would read a book, write a short article concerning what I thought about said book, and then took suggestions from anyone that wants to see me write about a book of their choosing! I think it would be very cool if we were able to create a community of people that love reading, all coming together to chat about our favorite (or not-so favorite) books.

book-shelf_218667.jpg

Photos from Google Images

To give you an idea of what sorts of books I enjoy reading, here's a short list of books that you might see reviews of in the future:

1: Words of Radiance by Brandon Sanderson

917AnD4pjfL.jpg

This is the second book in the series The Stormlight Archive. It's an epic fantasy series that is full of vibrant world-building and relatable characters that make you feel incredibly connected to entire storyline. I'm about two-thirds through this book, so this might be one of the first reviews you see.

2: Hyperion by Dan Simmons

9780385263481.jpg

I don't know much about this book, but I picked it up at Barnes & Noble a couple days ago simply because I'd heard such good things about it. It's the first in a series, but I'll know soon if it'll be a series that I read entirely.

3: Good Omens by Neil Gaiman & Terry Pratchett

615ThvjLqFL.jpg

This is another one that I don't know too much about, but I love Neil Gaiman, so I felt inclined to give it a read. It's supposed to be very funny, implementing the dry British humor that Gaiman is so renowned for. The story concerns Armageddon, but from a comedic point of view. Sound interesting? I thought so too.

4: Fool's Assassin by Robin Hobb

51kgnOw+2AL.jpg

Robin Hobb has been a revered fantasy writer for many years now, but this will be the first of her works that I have ever read. I'm pretty excited about getting involved in the world she has crafted, having heard many good reviews of many of her books.

------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Hopefully that gave you some idea of my taste in books! These all happen to be fantasy books, but I also read a lot of science fiction, along with many other genres!

If you have any suggestions for books that I should check out, please leave them below! Finding new books is one of my absolute favorite things, so you'd be doing me a big favor by dropping some suggestions ;-)

Peace!

Sort:  

Hey @josiahthomas,

Reading is also my favorite Hobby, i am trying to build my own library...it's really a great experience... :-)

That's awesome! I totally wish I had the space to build my own library! Our RV doesn't have that kind of space, however.

Yeh, but some time a little space can be helpful if you can decorate it properly..... :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 71443.06
ETH 3660.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73