The Crowns of Croswald ~ D.E.Night

in #bookreview6 years ago

Heya beautiful Steemians! I bring you another book review!! 😆 This one I will classify as Middle Grade Fantasy. But I, as an adult (believe it or not😂), really enjoyed it too!

Facetune 13.JPG

The Crowns of Croswald ~D.E.Night

Synopsis:

(Grabbed from Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/34944590-the-crowns-of-croswald?from_search=true )

In Croswald, the only thing more powerful than dark magic is one secret…

For sixteen years Ivy Lovely has been hidden behind an enchanted boundary that separates the mundane from the magical. When Ivy crosses the border, her powers awaken. Curiosity leads her crashing through a series of adventures at the Halls of Ivy, a school where students learn to master their magical blood and the power of Croswald’s mysterious gems. When Ivy’s magic––and her life––is threatened by the Dark Queen, she scrambles to unearth her history and save Croswald before the truth is swept away forever.

Facetune 14.JPG

My Review:

I LOVED IT! 😍

I’m giving it a 4.8⭐️ (under Middle Grade)
What a beautiful magical story, this book has truly captured me and I’m so pumped for the rest of this series! Even though I would classify this more of a middle grade read, I most certainly enjoyed it a whole lot as a young adult. Most definitely a must read for Harry Potter fans…if you are looking for a bit of a magical school vibe…this book is IT!!!

There is just something really exciting about discovering a new magical world with new magical concepts and creatures🧚‍♀️🐉🦄…especially when you can see yourself falling in love with it. When I started reading I had this kind of tingling sensation, a kind of knowing that this can be a new favourite world.✨

While you might feel a bit confused while reading the prologue,(with confused I just mean unfamiliar) this does set the tone of the book and makes the unknown all the more “mysterious” and thrilling. Soon it all becomes clear and it was actually quite fun discovering and uncovering the truth and getting to know Humbolt(an oven type caldron dragon) and learning about magical quills and the hairies they use for light…there is a lot of magical elements waiting to be discovered in this adventure.✨

After reading the first few chapters of this book…I had the same feeling that I had while reading the Harry Potter series for the first time.(this was not that long ago by the way) It just had that Hogwarts First Year vibe. With magical classes and mischievous adventures and new friendships that are made. An excitement builds when you realise a book is going to be epic.

Ivy Lovely is a curious little dreamer, yearning for adventure and magic. Thrown out of the castle where she worked as a ‘scullery’ maid, she gets “picked up” as she’s to be a new student at the Halls of Ivy(A magical school), totally unbeknownst to her by the way. She is thrust into a whole new world…alone but brave, she takes on her new role as scrivenest student. I loved her character…she might seem a bit timid in the beginning and uncertain about her place in this new world, but her will to grow and her curious and caring nature is beautiful to behold. I also enjoyed the friendships she made…Fyn and Rebecca are as vital to Ivy and the story as Ron and Hermione was to Harry.

Come and learn all about Ivy’s fate as she discovers the Halls of Ivy, Glanageries classes, the forgotten room and far far more!!!

Much love💗

Some fun extras...

Here is the admission letter Ivy received for her first year at the Halls of Ivy, with a list of her classes and the supplies she needs to buy 😊

Facetune 10.JPG

Facetune 11.JPG
(Scroll image link: Free images by pngtree.com )

Sort:  

I haven't read this one but I've heard a lot in bookstagram!! this book is everywhere. I think i'll give it a chance

It is such a fun and almost nostalgic middle grade read! 💗If you are a Potter most definitely read it :)

Thanks for the informative review. Also loved your pictures!

Great review. You've hit the nail on the head. Makes me want to pick it up and give it a read :)

Thank you so very much! That really does mean a lot to me :)

Nice review enjoyed the way you deliver an overview @esli.kloppers have a wonderful day.

Thank you so much Joan! 😊

I'm doing a giveaway for this book until tomorrow on instagram! It's everywhere! Do you have a bookstagram?

It really is all over bookstagram yes and I love seeing it everywhere :) Yes, my username is insignificant.beauties ☺️I might already be following you...what is your handle?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60826.65
ETH 2907.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.54