You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Book Review: Like Bees to Honey — Caroline Smailes

in #bookreview6 years ago

You have a beautiful prose writing style, @poetrybyjeremy. I was swept along by your descriptions of the book and read every word. It’s testimonial to the strength of your writing that I didn’t want to skim!

It’s intriguing that you say there is a mundane aspect to the book that makes it work. Interesting! I love ghosts, I’ve discovered. Must add this to my list.

I need to spend more time on Goodreads. I have an account, but since I’m in two book clubs, I don’t have a lot of freedom to choose my reading material! 😊 Can you follow certain reviewers? Sounds like you are a regular.

Sort:  

I'm humbled by your high-praise.

Yes, on Goodreads you can follow (or add friends) reviewers, and see their updates and reviews on timeline (or on their profile). I do suggest you to be more active on goodreads for two reasons:

  1. If you follow someone with similar interests, you're likely to find something interesting from their list and reviews.
  2. By reviewing (or even just rating the books between 1 to 5 stars), you're helping out other readers and the authors themselves.

Yes! I started actually figuring out how it works today. I went through and rated all the books it presented to me that I have already read, with the exception of some of the Victorian classics. I read so many of them in college and graduate school, and I can't read them anymore. Odd, huh? Because Goodreads gives you more of what you rate, I just skipped over most of those! Thanks for the encouragement to get going with that. It really reconfirmed my love of reading. There are so many intriguing books and just not enough time.

The 'not-enough-time' goes the same for everything, but that's why we got to pick what we like and not waste time on things we don't ;)

I agree 100%. And life is way too short to read bad books!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59281.33
ETH 2982.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.74