Book Review: The Fault in Our Stars

in #bookreview5 years ago

thefaultinourstars.png

The Fault in Our Stars

Hazel is a sixteen-year-old with a terminal cancer, undergoing treatment that prolongs her life. She’s tired of going to support group whose leader is all about “living our best life, today”. In one of the sessions Augustus Waters, a teenage boy who had lost a leg but was free from cancer, joins the group. As Augustus comes closer to Hazel, she pushes him away, not wanting to scar him when she inevitably passes away.

The overall plot is decent. The author did show me well enough everyone’s conditions, their limitations in every day activities, like Augustus not being the best driver because of his leg. However, something felt quite artificial while reading. The dialogues were unusual. In a way, the dialogues converged into nihilism so often, it felt like it was a monotone author rather than the characters having their own voice.

Hazel and Augustus are sixteen-years-old, but it feels as if their minds are decades older. Their way-of-speaking and articulation is a barrier to me immersing myself in the story. And that’s a shame—I’m unable to empathise with them or their love because they are simply puzzle pieces that the author plays around to fit inside the book.

Not wanting to sound too harsh, I should be clearer. It's not a bad novel. I managed to read through it with mild curiosity. It’s enjoyable, but at the same time, there is a lot of untapped potential. In fact, I’ve rated this 3/5 stars on Goodreads. Since this book is a best-selling novel, I’m really eager to hear feedback/opinions from my own readers, and whether you guys think differently about this.

faultinourstars.jpg


Sources and Links:

Book: The Fault in Our Stars
Book Cover: Goodreads
Book Review: Jeremy Mifsud
Header Photograph: Cristina Gottardi

Sort:  

I haven't read this yet... I'm not sure I will but it sounds interesting enough... I usually tend to stay away from anything that might make me cry lol.

Awesome review babe. Wasn't this a movie as well?

It was a movie indeed (but I've never watched it). It was interesting and it wasn't a typical sob-story over feeling sorry over oneself, but I didn't really click with me either. But others have really put in great reviews.

I still haven't read this book yet but want to, simply cause I adore the movie.

Part of why they sound so much older could be due to the struggles they've faced. I know people who face these kinds of challenges at a young age tend to grow up faster than normal, so that could be a factor. Just a thought, but I can't say for sure since I've only seen the movie so far.

The movie is excellent, btw, so I highly recommend it. The actress who plays Hazel is brilliant and if you cry at anything you will cry at this movie.

Yeah, I'm familiar with the actress and I think I would enjoy the movie more. I get that you may be more mature, but at the same time, the language felt a bit stilted in that sense, for me. I've had depression as 18 year old and people always told me that I'm so mature for my age, so I get that aspect of things, but that should reflect context not linguistic, in my opinion. It didn't feel all too natural, but perhaps it's just my personal bias.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64605.91
ETH 3159.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11