Partial Book Review Of Rich Dad Poor Dad

in #bookreview5 years ago (edited)


This book has so many amazing financial gems in it that I wanted to share while I was about halfway through the book and the information was still fresh in my mind. Some of the main points he made were that you should focus on buying assets to generate more wealth and avoid liabilities. Most people think certain liabilities are assets when they are not. The rich focus on acquiring assets and diversifying and letting their money work for them. Financial literacy is a crucial component to success. There are so many more!
Note that near the end I say I use my rent as part of my income tax and I sort of fumble with what I'm saying. I'm saying that rent if you're working from home can be used as a deduction from the income tax you would have to pay.

Youtube alt link:

Sort:  

great work my friend,i support and agree your post..!

I have and love all these Robert Kiyosaki's books. These were the first real books about investment and life I was reading when they came out.
I keep on going back to them once in a while since they are just amazing books.
Thanks for sharing @scottcbusiness

What I learnt from Robert Kiyosaki's book is turning liability to asset. Often times, we acquire liability with the mindset of building our riches which is a sure path way to accumulating debt. But he turned the equation around with this illustration:- Let assume you have a landed property in LA, but instead of residing in Los. You decided to lease it out on a fee - $200 per annum. Isn't that an asset? Meanwhile, an apartment which some people are living in is a liability to them. They pay taxes and maintenance fee.

Nice video, but the book helped most of your content, and it is a good book :) I have this book sitting around, but haven't had time for it, not am I a passionate book reader. But I have read "The richest man in Babylon", similar, but this one is better ;)

Thanks! And interesting I'll look into that.

Hi @scottcbusiness!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.523 which ranks you at #1900 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 3 places in the last three days (old rank 1897).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 240 contributions, your post is ranked at #191.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Congratulations you got resteemed!

Resteem your Posts to 10650+ Followers — just send 0.1 SBD or STEEM to @yougotresteemed with link in memo (you also will receive a 100% upvote)!

Make sure to check out our new project: @lifetimebot - a subscription & share based upvote-bot. Only a few shares left for purchase at the moment.

For daily bloggers we offer a Resteem subscription including at least one Resteem a day and a daily feature + daily upvotes!

Hi, @scottcbusiness!

You just got a 0.09% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64733.60
ETH 3170.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.16