You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Horror Review: Inhuman by John Russo (1986, Pocket Books)

in #books5 years ago

This wasn't a waste of time even when you're talking about a wasted story. I like your tone of commentary, brutally honest. I never heard of this story but I'm already convinced it's not worth the read. Judging from the summarized version, that's a lot of stuff going on there without any real focus.

Sort:  

Thanks so much, @adamada! I don't intentionally set out to read awful books, although there's a darn better chance to encounter it with 80's and 90's horror than maybe other genres. I don't want to be "The Angry Video Game Nerd of Horror PBs" or something like that, but I have to be true to myself when I read something, and if I'm going to review it, I do nobody favors if I gloss over the crappy bits.

You're going to KNOW, by golly, what's wrong with these books. :D

I also think it's important to take a lot of what I say with a grain of salt. Horror's very much a "one man's trash is another man's treasure", and I've read plenty of stuff that is utter garbage but I can't help loving anyway. Carnivore by Leigh Clark and Bats by William W. Johnstone are objectively awful novels by any metric, but they come by it so sincerely that I re-read them every few years in spite of this.

I can't picture myself re-reading Inhuman for anything though. It's not great, and it doesn't even have the balls to be so awful it's good (despite a premise screaming just that). Russo's writing is technically competent, it's just...not very fun to read here.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 57410.43
ETH 2916.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67