A book that changed my life? My post for the @bananafish question.

in #books5 years ago (edited)

Dear friends, I leave my entry to A book that changed your life . I strongly recommend that you participate. It is a particularly beautiful initiative.
I will not abuse your time, the post is a little long, so, without further ado, I am grateful.


Archivo:Ouroboros.png

Source


There's no book. There isn't even a book. There is, yes, a long voyage full of stories.

Sometimes those stories were spoken, whispered in the nights of fear.

Sometimes they were contained in a book.

Sometimes they just led to that book.

It is a journey through blood, through a silver thread that unites my present and that of a girl, who was once, a long time ago, a woman, who was an old woman: my grandmother. There is "a path of stories like a snake that bites its tail," as Guillermo Meneses said in "La mano junto al muro".

She, my grandmother, was my Scheherazade. She told me the stories of the Vizier's daughter for King Shahriar in Las mil y una noches.

Archivo:Ferdinand Keller - Scheherazade und Sultan Schariar (1880).jpg


Source


And so, interspersed with the stories of her life, she led me through the stories of the books.

And so, on the nights of my childhood, I became a reader without knowing it.

And following the thread of their stories I found my stories. I also found the path of other people's stories that have made my life. I fell in love with stories and with stories I raised my daughter.

A silver thread that is woven into the secret of blood, as Gustavo Díaz Solís says in "Arco secreto". Like a snake that bites its tail.

My grandmother used to tell stories about a Spanish treasure she found, when she was very young, on a hill. She told me that her mother said, "God, help us," because she knew that the ghost of the old Spanish pirate would come for her and her daughter, my grandmother. Her mother was taken away by the Spanish flu plague in Cumaná, in this Land of Grace, in 1922. When she died, she had seen an earthquake devastate her village. A comet that threatened to burn the earth. She gave birth to six children. My grandmother survived her mother a long, tired night. At dawn, she knew she was holding the hand of a dead woman. There was no nocturnal bird screaming "Never more" in the horrendous darkness. Edgar Alan Poe's The Raven gave me a taste of his childhood horror.

File:Paul Gustave Dore Raven4.jpg


Source


My grandmother used to tell me the story of a huge woman who constantly gobbled up what she found in people's homes. That the woman presented herself in the form of a very skinny old woman who asked for a loaf of bread, and, if you invited her into your house, ate the loaf of bread and what was in the pots of the kitchen and the owners of the house and the dog and the apothecary and the priest... And the whole town was eaten as in an impossible story, which could well have happened in Macondo, of Cien años de soledad. Every year I reread this book to make sure that reality continues to have cracks where astonishers fit. And again I feel like a child at the feet of my grandmother's rocking chair. My grandmother smelled of citronella leaves.

Bruja cuento.png
Source


My grandmother used to tell me stories of crazy owners and gentlemen, such as the "felice barahunda" of Quijote characters. Stories like that of the old man they found in a cave on a hill in Puerto Escondido (the town that her grandfather founded and governed his law, and where he loved and murdered himself). The old man could not recognize himself in the mirror, because he remembered that he was twenty-eight years old when his boat was stranded in those lands, which were then uninhabited. When they found him, he was asleep and murmured in sweet dreams compliments to the buttocks of one Crucita. He took shelter in the cave to spend the night and woke up wrinkled like a little patch and fiery like a lion in love. He dedicated himself to running around girls without much concern for his name, his family beyond that sea, nor his future. And when Don Quijote came into my hands and stayed definitively in my heart to make me see the world as a dream I will not waste, an adventure, a fiction where all possibilities fit.

Every year I read again the translation of Cide Hamete Benengeli...



Source


My life goes by between stories that mark their course (my course?).

A book terrifies me and in itself is a book of great beauty. The fascination it exerts over me is a trap that traps me for days, while I wander its streets, for days or months. Spoon River traps me in its stories, in its poems, and an Edgar Lee Masters smiles (because a writer knows, and sometimes only the writer knows how a reader will put a book in his soul). I read the Spoon River Anthology and hear the dead speak: their dead are my dead and they change my pace and the small calamities of my days are like echoes within their pages.

Once a year I am also Lyra and I travel through the four worlds that traverse La materia oscura. Philip Pullman tells me his stories: a compass, a spyglass, a dagger. I see the world through the unusual gaze of the mulefas (who have symbiosis with the trees of their world and have a sense of community and collective intelligence) and I despair that we are no longer like them and that we do not understand that a pet is our daimonion.

I am a city mulefa who cultivates a vegetable garden.

I have no idea what this is or what it means for the good of the world.


Source


My laughter and sadness are witnessed by the Olvidado Rey Gudú that one day Ana María Matute wrote. And the Trasgo del Sur showed me the wound of the excessive love, the maternal one, that gives itself without return. It also taught me to understand its inevitability.

And how much tearing, how much terrible astonishment in the impiety on the candor of Kuy-Kuyen. That story repeated in the innocent dead (no matter the cause declared in newspapers or reports, all are engendered in evil) that the Venezuelans of these last two decades will drag forever like bundles tied by the inventors of misery. With The Saga of the Confines Liliana Bodoc put my astonishment on the death that she decided to give birth and I threw myself to her abysses to understand the evil.

Archivo:Niña mapuche lanza.jpg


Source


"Trafalgar" came from the hand of Angelica Gorodischer and with her also the cosmic astonishment of indescribable beauty of "La onomatopeya de ojo silencioso". And Paco Igancio Taibo II was the terrible and eschatological laughter that showed me the miseries of my own soul, the miseries of all souls.

And there are many, many more... Right now I remember Ricardo Piglia in La ciudad ausente ("Can the real be told?"); I see Jorge Luis Borges looking at an impossible Aleph in a Buenos Aires basement; Brausen irremediably lost, and Dr. Díaz Grey in La vida breve, de Juan Carlos Onetti; Guillermo Cabrera Infante's endless habanera night...

Every book has changed my life because fiction changed my life. That renewed passion for finding the great book where all the stories come together made my life.

In a deep and punctual radical place of its center the books have shown me the face of a secret that I still cannot understand. The secret that my grandmother knew.

And that is my story.



Gracias por la compañía. Bienvenidos siempre.





¡Libertad para mi país!





Soy miembro de @EquipoCardumen


Soy miembro de @TalentClub




Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://adncabrera.vornix.blog/2019/03/14/a-book-that-changed-my-life-my-post-for-the-bananafish-question/
Sort:  

What an authentic and vibrant witnessing.
But, most of all, why, why and again why someone like you doesn't participate in the Finish the Story contest? ☺️

Dear, @f3nix.
I promise I will participate.
I promise to participate.
I promise to participate.
Thank you for the invitation, for reading my text and commenting on it with such generous enthusiasm!
Welcome always!

Congratulations for a well-deserved curie vote!
I count to see your vast culture and rich writing applied to my contest one day. In all sincerity, that would be a true honor since you're a real author and I'm astonished by the thousand shades of your inner world :-)

I'm very excited about the invitation and your words. I'm already working on my final! It's a beauty contest! :-)

Hi there @adncabrera!

It was a lovely read! I was totally drawn how you seemed to spark your love for books.. oh yess! Once you started flipping those pages you become obsessed to keep on reading. Sometimes even the smell of old books makes one crazy! I am like that sometimes, it excites me that i want to get hold and finish the book.

Im glad that you enherited your grandmother's passion for stories. Your enthusiasm leads you to the quest for the best book who tells a great story. A book that continually inspire you to dream more.

Never stop searching and sharing wonderful stories with us. Id love to hear some more. ❤

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you very much, @maquemali, for your sensitive appreciation of my stories. Your comment is very valuable to me, because it is unquestionable that you are a reader. Only a reader recognizes the delicious smell of books. Her loving touch is also an intimate experience: I tend to caress the covers of new books with my cheek. That softness is an introduction to the pariah who can keep his pages.
Receive a hug.
Always welcome.

Wooaw....i really enjoyed your long story which is not a book.....lol
You really did great by sharing so we could also enjoy the story in there like you did. You really won my heart with what you shared and i wait to read more great stories from you soon.
Your pictures on the other hand made your blog worth all the interest its needed. Great work and keep it up

Thank you very much, @ferrate, for your generous comment. It's a joy to know that those who read to me enjoy the stories. Writing, but above all reading (listening) has always been a source of joy for me.
You are welcome whenever you want to come closer.
I'll also look for your blog!
A hug!

I'm thinking to print this post and use it as a sort of a treasure map.

Dear @bananafish, you made my heart beat like a drum with that comment. Your words are very generous I will work hard to improve and deserve them.

The pleasure is all yours. You did lovely in there. Keep it up

Posted using Partiko Android

Congrats on the curie vote, @adncabrera. More than deserved.
This is a delightful and inspirational journey through the magical pages of books, but more importantly, the transformational power of storytelling, especially oral storytelling, so passionately fomented by our parents and grandparents.

I think that the absence of that in this generation of families, more than the actual alienating power of technology, which incidentally has also the power to encourage reading in more efficient and prolific ways than we had, would be the greatest deterrent of good reading.

Your reading history is in itself a beautiful story about what stories can do for people and the need to keep that storytelling spirit alive.

As always, dear @hlezama, your comment is a valuable contribution to the topic. We agree, the chain of oral narrations is a great motivator of reading and writing. Whoever tries the good fiction, the graceful forms of a good oral naration, soon looks for more!
I believe that people, regardless of technological means, will seek to read, and will seek to read fictions, because it is a fundamental part of our existence. Humans live among stories. We can't help it.
A big hug.

Hi adncabrera,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Dear Curie team friends, it is an honor for me to receive your support; a sign that my work is being valued and that it is worthwhile to continue working to improve.
Thank you for the work you do in promoting quality at Steemit.
Thank you very much.

Congratulations @adncabrera! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 600 replies. Your next target is to reach 700 replies.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Are you a DrugWars early adopter? Benvenuto in famiglia!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

hi @ adncabrera,
first of all congratulations for such an interesting article about yourself. Normally I am not a fan of this kind of personal expressions but here title and curation motivated me to check the content closely.
the book which has changed my life was Naked Lunch by William S. Burroughs read in the age of 17 and opened my eyes into the world of surreal illusions, paranoids, hallucinations, sick absurd and darkness. Also worth to check

Hello, @cubapl.
I thank you very much for coming to read my post, and, above all, for sharing your reading preference.
I love William S. Burroughs. It's great. And it's cooler when you're 17. I mean there are readings that discover universes that are more exciting in some epochs of life. Maybe you know Philip K. Dick... In the line of the game with perceptions is an author that I think is worth reviewing, especially Ubik.
He gets a hug.
I'll find your blog.

That is a true fact that the more we spent on listening stories in our nanny lap the more it generates interest to read as we grown up. The passion for book reading can not be come automatically unless you have such craze to listen stories. Obviously the old grand mama...never remain with us forever but their touch with the stories in our life made us to search out for stories which ultimately ends up with books...and we get solace among them.

Posted using Partiko Android

True, reading has been for me a way of recovering the sensation of absolute plenitude that was traveling through the worlds that my grandmother summoned. I don't say it in the post, but my mother was also an excellent storyteller and knew many poems by heart. My maternal grandfather was a walking encyclopaedia: in the end, it is a network that leads us to value fiction, thought, reflection, information... And all our lives we will continue in the search for those experiences.
Thank you very much, @steemflow, for reading my text and sharing your comment.
A hug!

Thanks @adncaberera our surrounding does influence us in growing a liking for something...wether be it in the society or in the family...the better the environment the better it could be...👌

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62596.14
ETH 3021.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65