Just read "The Mists of Avalon" - here is a short review of the epic experience

in #books6 years ago

I spent the week completely engaged in this book:

Who has read it? What did you think of Marion Zimmer Bradley's take on the epic Fairy-Tale of Britain? I would love to discuss . . .

What can i say about this book without spending a month writing an entire thesis? A few main points for those who are interested:

1 - It's one of the top ten fantasy novels of all time.

2 - It is the retelling of the Legend of King Arthur through the eyes of the women in his life.

3 - There are many main and supporting characters in the episides which cover at least 50 years of family, magic, religion, royalty, fate, love, treason, treachery, murder and sorrow but i think others would agree that the narrative follows the life most of Arthur's half-sister, the priestess of the Goddess and eventual Lady of the mystical kingdom of Avalon: Morgaine, also known as Morgan La Fay, or 'of the fairies.'

4 - Despite battles and serious personal dramas, the main conflict is ideological: the newish Christianity of Rome against the old devotees of The Goddess, led by her priestesses at Avalon. You don't wanna to know which one wins, which leads me to

5 - It's a tragedy. After 800 pages of storyline and character build-up, everybody dies. Pretty much. Personally havent cried that long and deeply for a while. The Goddess knew i had to grieve in an epic way, which brings me to

6 - While in the middle of the book, mid-week, i started using a turquoise sharpee to draw a crescent between my eyebrows, the symbol of the priestesses of Avalon:

I'm sure you've at some point surrendered yourself to such fancies and it was meaningful to me, I needed the power, big fan. Read the book. If you're ready. Its no tale for the faint of heart.

7 - Here my thesis question, literarily speaking, and not just retorical for you readers of the book: is the author Christian? What are thoughts on that? I have many, but especially the end in the epilogue seemed to be supporting the view of both Merlins - Talisan and Kevin the bard - that all Gods are one God. And even casting the goddess worship and the worship of Christ in the same light afterall. What are your thoughts if you have any?

7 - Here's the cute coincidence that happened after i finished the book this morning (even now my belly shudders in memory of the intensity of those last 50 pages): as i dressed myself once more as a priestess of the goddess, risen again after the pain of the denoument had been bled out, i painted on the cresent and fluffed my hair into a wild mane like i like it. I remembered how my sister, Bekah, teases me saying that when i make my hair big like that i look like Madam Mim:

Well ha ha ha . . . . . . Madame Mim! Why she is from the Sword and the Stone! Disney's adaptation of the Arthorian legend . . . In which she has a magical battle (sanitized of course, for the kiddies) with the wizard Merlin. Why who else could she be, this ugly old Madame Mim but the "evil sorceress" of the story, Morgaine herself, the protagonist i had been following so closely for over a week now. And my sister had for years compared me to her animated likness! Oh Universe, thank you for blessing books at times with your power.

9 - The Mists of Avalon is a great read and will forever live in my mind and heart.

Thanks for reading!
Amanda Freemanda

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 66858.35
ETH 3088.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72