Book Recommendations Thread

in #books6 years ago

“Books are the plane, and the train, and the road. They are the destination, and the journey. They are home.” ― Anna Quindlen, How Reading Changed My Life

“Books are the quietest and most constant of friends; they are the most accessible and wisest of counsellors, and the most patient of teachers.” — Charles William Eliot

“A room without books is like a body without a soul.” ― Marcus Tullius Cicero

pexels-photo-185762.jpeg

In 2017, I read 35 books. I can hardly believe that typing it out myself. I thought I would start a book recommendation thread so we can share the book that we've fallen in love with.

My taste preference goes for historical, historical fiction and realistic fiction.

My top books for 2017 were as follows:

The Choice: Embrace the Possible by Dr. Edith Eger
Amy Chelsea Stacie Dee by Mary G. Thompson
They Were Like Family to Me by Helen Maryles Shankman
The Nightingale by Kristin Hannah
Lilac Girls by Martha Hall Kelly
Lily and the Octopus by Steven Rowley
Modern Girls by Jennifer S. Brown
The Wonder by Emma Donoghue

What's the best book or books you've read recently and would like to recommend?

Sort:  

Ive read the six wives of henry the 8th by alison weir, empress dowager cixi by Jung Chang. These 2 are non fiction.
But im planning to also read alison weirs ficitonal book on anne boleyn a kings obession. Heard its a historical fictiin book

I was very impressed by 'The Girl with Seven Names: Escape From North Korea' by Lee Hyeonseo and I also loved 'So Much I Want to Tell You: Letters to My Little Sister' by Anna Akana. I have read 12 books in 2017, aiming to read 24 this year!

Nice. Are you on Goodreads?

I think I will add the first book to my list. :)

Congratulations @annascanlon! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemWhales has officially moved to SteemitBoard Ranking
SteemitBoard - Witness Update

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @annascanlon! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 66795.37
ETH 3087.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72