My Summer of Science Fiction - The Top 3

in #books7 years ago

I try to read a variety of books but while reviewing my reading list from this past summer I noticed that 5 of the books I read fall in to the sci-fi category. I do like science fiction, but 5 in a row?! That’s a bit unusual for me. Maybe this summer I was looking for a bit of escapism. Anyway, the books below are excellent, even for those who don’t normally wander into the Sci-Fi/Fantasy section of the bookstore.

1. Planetfall


I think my favorite book of the summer was Planetfall by Emma Newman. I didn't know much about this book when I picked it up and it kept me guessing. It’s the story of a small group of colonists who establish a carefully planned and seemingly harmonious society on a far-away planet. When a mysterious stranger shows up their world is thrown into disarray. It started out reading like hard science fiction and ended up a metaphysical novel. Along the way it became a character driven story about grief, mental illness and what makes us human. Surprising and fast-paced.

2. After Atlas

I enjoyed Planetfall so much, I decided to pick up Newman’s companion novel After Atlas, a plot-driven sci-fi detective novel. Although set in the same universe as Planetfall, it’s not really a sequel. It picks up 40 years after Planetfall when Detective Moreno, whose mother abandoned him to join the Planetfall mission, must solve the murder of a cult-leader who was also connected to the mission. Newman takes current issues around corporatization of government, religious freedom, food supply and technology and extrapolates them to create a plausible and terrifying future. But aside from that, this is just a good, page-turner of a story.

3. The Wanderers

And the last of my top 3 is The Wanderers by Meg Howrey. I really liked the Wanderers, but am a little hesitant to recommend it. The story concerns 3 astronauts sent on a simulated 17 month mission to Mars. Howrey includes plenty of technical details for sci-fi fans, but the book really focuses on the astronauts' inner journeys as they are forced to confront what they reveal and what they keep hidden, from those closest to them and from themselves. The book explores the nature of reality, how we define ourselves, as men, women, parents, crew members, lovers, and humans (and potentially Martians?). The characters are well drawn and the author has a dry sense of humor. If you enjoy literary fiction don't let the space part scare you off and if you enjoy science fiction, don't come in expecting a lot of plot and action.

The other 2 sci-fi novels I read over the summer I did not enjoy as much. More on those in another post.

Do you have any other great sci-fi titles I should add to my reading list?

Sort:  

Thank you for this interesting piece. And with these words, you have made it mandatory for me to read these three books, which is kind of magical when you think of it. Because your words just went out into the universe and entered my mind and will now create action out of thin air. But anyway, I have found the old Stanislaw Lem books very funny and metaphysical, and you might enjoy them too, if you have not already done so.

I have not read any of his books, I'll have to check them out. Thanks!

I love sci fi as well, but I've been sticking to the halo and star wars series recently and been a little distracted by the game of thrones sereies most recently.

I'm working on creating a monthly book club here on steemit if you'd like to join. I have a post where you can comment and upvote books you'd be interested in reading and we'll pick one to read that month.

Hope to hear your thoughts on what we should read next month!

Great! I will check it out. I loved Game of Thrones too-- that will keep you busy for a while.

That's interesting. Though many people enjoy watching GoT, I know very few who actually enjoyed the books (including avid readers).

I found the books so sweeping and immersive that I couldn't imagine getting anything else out of the show. But when the show moved ahead of the books I started watching and I loved it. Now I'm all in on both.

Haha yeah i read the first three or four books quick but I have slowed down a lot on the current one Im reading.

Really awesome post. It would be great if you write a detailed reviews of your favourite books.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 71005.71
ETH 3788.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.47