Experimenting with Cryptocurrency - Selling eBooks

in #books7 years ago

Cover for Crimson Son 2: Motherland

I've been away but for good reason. My fifth novel, Crimson Son: Motherland, will be released next week and I've been putting on the finishing touches. As a self pub that often means a lot of work. Final edits, book formatting (ePub and print), typography for the cover, getting the launch day contests and marketing in place - my Steemit account has gotten dusty (...dry?).

I still believe in the underlying Steemit model and think it's the most innovative means of sharing content out there. And blockchain tech is clearly here to stay. Unfortunately, not everyone has jumped on board.

Currently there isn't a great way to purchase my books with crypto. Since the plot of my latest release revolves around a fictional cryptocurrency, I figured I needed to correct that deficiency.

Sure, you can use bitcoin to buy Amazon gift cards and purchase books that way or a service like Purse.io. However, that feels like a violation of the core concept of not needing a middle man to make the transaction. So, as an experiment, I've added Bitcoin purchases for two of the titles in my Crimson Son series (the first is available for free).

The Bitcoin purchases are only available on the series webpage at http://www.crimsonson.com and not on my main site. If "Mr. Robot meets the Avengers" sounds like it might be your thing, check it out and let me know what you think in the comments!

Sort:  

Are you planning to keep us updated with the progress? Curious as to if you can help bridge that gap between crypto and non-crypto users, :)

Yep, I'll try and keep you posted. I have no idea how or if it will work. And the book presents what is hopefully a simplified but enlightening explanation of cryptocurrency. (Of course, the story is the main part.)

Hey my friend have you heard about open bazaar. It is a platform you can sell and buy items on with crypt currency. I would recommend that you check them out :) Upvoted and followed

I tried it but it still seems a bit too buggy. So I just went with a Coinbase merchant link. We'll see if anyone finds it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 63715.95
ETH 2946.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55