About Reading

in #books5 years ago

vel1.jpg

I used to read and just read, all the time. When I was in elementary school, I would go to the library once a week and come out with a huge stack of books. I’d read detective novels, fantasy and all kinds of fiction, throwing in a memoir to the mix every once in a while. I’d always have at least three books on rotation and I never used bookmarks so I’d always be looking for the place where I last left off. Sometimes I’d get my storied mixed up if I was reading two books that were similar. And I loved it all.

Slowly my passion for books dwindled when I got introduced to social media and everything interned had to offer. Shame really, but movies and tv-series took over and I no longer spend hours and days just reading.

When I tried to pick up a book, I had trouble consentrating and I’d often fall asleep easily while reading. Long gone were the days when no matter how sleepy I was, a good book would keep me up all night. All of a sudden I was not a reader at all anymore.

Fast forward years of only reading a few books during the course of a year, and getting dumber by the day, to being introduced to audio books. While they weren’t a totally unheard (pun intented) consept to me, with only having a few Finnish audio books in the local library, I never payed much attention to them. One day couple years ago I found the Audible service by Amazon, with the most amazing range of audio books in English, I was instantly hooked. For the past couple years, instead of reading, I’ve been listening to books quite a lot. While not aa good as reading them for yourself, they are the next best option, and a hands-free one at that. I have produced probably closer to 30 pairs of wool socks and mittens while listening to audio books.

While audio books provided an easy access to books, it’s not quite the same as reading for yourself, and I miss it. I miss getting lost in the books.

I have a vivid imagination and I get really into the world of the book, feeling what the chatacters feel and being very invested in it. Even if the book was bad, I was adamant on finishing it because I felt like I had to because I chose the book and there would always be something to learn in the end. Nowadays I don’t waste my time on a book that I don’t like. Like the one I’m actually holding in the picture above, I gave up on that after the third way in. Both the main characters were super annoying and in no way or shape relatable.

Last night I was staying at my uncles place in Helsinki, who has a huge book case filled with great Scandinavian crime novels. I was about to have a bath so I thought to see if any of the books spoke to me and wanted to come with. After some browsing and reading back covers, I chose Jo Nesbø’s Snowman (translated to Finnish as Lumiukko from Norwegian, original title Snømannen.)

I filled the bath tub with hot water and blunged in, getting relaxed with the book I chose. I got immediately so invested in the thrilling story that before I knew it, the water was getting cold and it was time for me to wash up and go to bed. I kept reading, fell asleep for a bit but after my body jerked me awake again, I picked up where I left off in the book. I kept reading until 3am, and continued in the morning. I read more on my way back to my city on a long bus drive and couldn’t put the book down at home either. I only finished it a little while ago, basically reading it on one go.

There was not even one part where I was bored, I loved the book and the complex and twisted story in it. Now I want more.

Do you read and what book you last finished?

Sort:  

I've always been an avid reader. I plowed through seventy-six last year, according to Goodreads, but part of that was due to Steemit helping me monetize the reviews I enjoy writing anyway.

I mostly do horror, but I'll give nearly anything that piques my curiosity a shot, whether it's fiction or non-fiction. I can't imagine a life without books. It's like you said: once you stop reading, you stop learning, and that puts a person at a profound disadvantage. :)

That is a great way to motivate yourself to read more! I have never really read horror, tried some Stephen King but wasn’t a fan. I like thrillers more and I think it’s even scarier when the horrible things are done by actual humans and not imginary monsters.

A lot of people believe that for a book to be labeled "horror" it has to contain some kind of supernatural elements: a haunted house, vampires, demonic possession, and that kind of thing. And to be fair, there is a lot of horror which focuses on the paranormal, including an significant amount of King's work.

But "horror" as a genre is about so much more than phantoms, weird monsters, and things that go bump in the night. Horror brought us the likes of Thomas Harris, who wrote "Red Dragon" and "Silence of the Lambs". These were published as "thrillers" rather than "horror" because the publisher felt "horror" had a gross, bottom-of-the-barrel sort of feeling to it, and thus was a new genre of serial killer fiction born.

Some of the best horror writers in the business mainly focus on the atrocities committed by normal people against other normal people. Jack Ketchum's book The Girl Next Door is based on a real-life torture slaying that happened in 1965. Richard Laymon's Out Are The Lights is about a director who actually butchers people on screen to create his ultra low budget films. Stephen King's The Long Walk is about a group of a hundred young men in a dystopian future America who volunteer to participate in a game where the winner receives anything he wants, and all he has to do is last longer than the other contestants. Koushun Takami's Battle Royale is about a group of 9th-grade students (13-14 years old) who are dropped on an island, given a random weapon and some basic supplies, and ordered to kill one another until there's only one left.

No supernatural spooks, no imaginary monsters, no undying machete-wielding zombies, just ordinary people suffering and fighting through horrific circumstances. If you do pick any of these up (I personally recommend The Long Walk), I'd love to hear what you think! :D

I used to be an avid reader when I was younger. I no longer read physical books. I wonder if I should because I feel as though I were turning into a goldfish. I can't even remember the name of the last novel I read.

I know the feeling, not a great one to have. Try and pick up a book and see if the feeling goes away after finishing a great novel.

The first person I know who subscribed to audible . There is a series on it called “west Cork” . I cannot recommend a better series . You probably have heard it as it is one of audibles biggest hits and it is about a murder that happened not far from me . Last book I read was an New York Times Elon Musk biography and Dan Browns new one Origins .

I haven’t actually heard of that one, but I’ll check it out :) I am a huge fan of Dan Brown, I even pre-ordered the audio book version of Origins so I could have it as soon as it released.

Nice ending but Dan Brown needs to change it up a bit. If I was Robert Langton I’d be waiting by the phone for my next adventure because he always scores the hot girl!! 😂😂. I read a joke reddit post about the timeline of every Dan Brown novel and it was true but a little bit sad as I love them .
Robert a college lecturer and photo memory receives the call after having a swim.
Gets in private jet. Runs around city of significance with a fit looking girl .
Meanwhile an assassin of significant skill and an abnormality is getting on a flight to come kill him and girl.
Slips at vital moment.
Robert capitalizes and assassin falls off high building.
Robert gets girl and avoids manslaughter charge.
World is safe .

West Cork is one of the best true crime series I have heard. And it is still going on today. It is best listened to on a winters night to set the scene. Finland is the perfect place to listen to it. 😀😀

Posted using Partiko iOS

I read. Quite a bit I might add, which is why I took to blogging here so well, I think. I have a long way before I finish, but I took up The Book of Five Rings by Miyamoto Musashi.

I'm trying to introduce some reading to my routine also. The last one I finished was The Brief History of Humankind, I think I should read the sequel also as you recommended it to me.

I feel it's a bit of a shame I'm not reading more – especially fiction for some reason doesn't really strike me at all at the moment, but at least there's some interesting non-fiction like The Art of Acting Smart (Viisaan Toiminnan Taito) that I picked up from the library and enjoy. I guess I'll just hang around in the psychology-philosophy area of the library.

I’m still yet to read that one, but it’s in my list as I liked the sequel so much. I often stick with fiction but lately I have found quite a few great books that are more sciense based. Why we sleep by Matthew Walker is another great book I’d recommend that might be of your interest.

Why we sleep by Matthew Walker is another great book I’d recommend that might be of your interest.

Ah! I actually watched a Podcast (Joe Rogan's) where he was talking. That Podcast was probably the most fascinating I've yet heard – definitely need to read the book also!

I also used to read a lot and visit the library every week or so as a kid!

Now, I haven't touched a book for years!
(Well, okay, I tried reading "The Godfather" when I was pregnant but "didn't feel like reading" one evening and kept postponing it until I forgot where I left off (and it was pretty much in the end of the book!))

I really want to get back into reading, but first I've got to get over the annoying habit of checking my phone all the time (there's nothing to check anyway, social media has gone boring, it's all just a gray mass portrayed on a handheld screen).

I've never made New Year's resolutions before but this time I've at least thought of an aim / direction to move to: I want to get a hold of myself - I want to develop my spirit by reading more books, getting inspired by authors, educating myself (online courses, etc), maybe even pick up the habit of listening to podcasts or audiobooks.

May the phone be only for adulting, education, research and necessary messaging!

Yes this checking our phones 24/7 is ruining us! I’m trying to get rid of the bad habit of scrolling through social media mindlessly and use that time for something more valuable. Anddd I just took an hour to get out of bed because I was looking at pictures on instagram....

How exactly does one produces...mittens and socks..and how do I get me a pair by EVE? :D

There is this practise called knitting :P If I ever come to Romania, I'll bring you a pair :D

uuuu. be fast, the winter doesn't last forever like in those nordic woods of yours!!

My last book was quite a while ago... Can't remember the title. Some sort of phantasy roman.
I definitely need to start reading more frequently again. In 2017 I nearly read 15books...

Those candles make a beautiful atmosphere but I doubt they're good for reading 😉 don't kill your eyes with them 😊

Posted using Partiko iOS

I read - Last book: 12 rules for life from Jordan Peterson

Posted using Partiko Android

Like Bastian in The Neverending Story I loved to read neath the blankett with a flashlight, I use to devour books weekly, true that series made me lazy, but I also know the feeling of being enraptured by a good book. Last novel I read was a reread of The Turn of the Screw by Henry James, I had read it but twenty years ago or so, still haunting

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62772.18
ETH 3032.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67