You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Books read, early September

in #books6 years ago

I do not read much at all now but I did when I was a kid and Pippi was one of my best friends! I have not thought of her for years, and you have brought it all back for me. She was a free spirit :)

I would love to read about the life of Astrid Lindgren and I'm sorry that book was not so great. As soon as I saw the name, I can remember seeing it repeated on my childhood bookshelves.

You are a reading champ! I will live through you. My bad hands and eyes, and general busyness make reading books something I don't think I will get to again.

Sort:  

One of the interesting things about reading Astrid Lindgren's biography was that Pippi's free spirit was a direct reaction to the authoritarianism surrounding Sweden at the time. Astrid Lindgren wanted everybody to feel that freedom that you and I enjoyed with Pippi. I thought that was great. :)

Oh my goodness! Thank you for telling me that. How subversive in such a clever way. This throws a whole new light on it for me. I'm even more glad I saw your post now :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62423.89
ETH 3202.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81