You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: First Book Haul of 2019!

in #books5 years ago (edited)

I am drooling at your pile of books. I don't remember when was the last time I was able to buy books like that. Probably 2009.

You made me remember this one time I attended a conference and the department of english at the university I was studying reimbursed my expenses with books. I made this long list of cheap classics (Shrift editions from Dover) and was as excited as you are now.

I teach (or used to) children's lit and it has been a tragedy for me to be in Venezuela now where buying books is a real luxury, let alone books in english.

I have been unable to update my reading list and as you can imagine, with thousands of titles coming our every year, I am 9 years behind, which makes it impossible to catch up.

Luckiy, I got enough books during my grad school years to still have something to read. In my waiting list these days I have
The Clan of the Cave Bear by Jean M. Auel
The last 3 books in the Artemis Fowl series (whihc I found as e-books online)
At the Hands of Persons Unknown: The Linching of Black America by PhilipDray
a bunch of collections of folktales from around the world

Sort:  

oh no, I'm sorry you can't get your hands on the books you want :/ maybe you could find more ebooks in general? :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.12
JST 0.030
BTC 69412.19
ETH 3670.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.25