Book Recommendations - Mistborn

in #books6 years ago (edited)

I'm pretty surprised books aren't on the list of tags on Steemit. I'm going to start bringing some in!

I recently finished a book by Brandon Sanderson called Mistborn that I found extremely difficult to put down. I found this author on a few lists of top fantasy writers, up there with George R.R. Martin, J.R.R. Tolkien (hm, just noticing this R.R shtick), and many other great fantasy writers we all know and love.

The story is about a dystopian world controlled by Allomancers, people genetically built to use powers based on the type of metals they ingest. They can swallow things like copper or steel and burn them to push or pull on certain aspects of life. There is a large social divide where there is a large slave-like group, Skaa, put to work by the upper class, Nobility. The world is constantly covered by volcanic ash and barely any crops or even color can survive. The magic world of Allomancy is quite intricate and engaging. I thought it was so clever to put the elements around us into new roles of force. Very good read!

220px-Mistborn-cover.jpg
(photo credit: Wikipedia)

Sort:  

thanks for sharing.

Brandon Sanderson is one of the best writers of epic fantasy. You'll see if you keep reading his books. Mistborn is great series.
This is the first post I've ever encountered, and it's related to the epic fantasy I love and about which I wrote. Have fun in books, there are many other writers and books that are great :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60986.03
ETH 2921.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.57