You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Rich Dad Poor Dad Book Club (Chapter 6 Part 2)

in #books6 years ago

Questions #2 (How have you sought additional skills beyond your specialty? What was the result?) and #3 (Was there a time you stayed in a secure job rather than strike out into a new position that might’ve gained you more in the long run? What was the basis of your decision?):

I had a career in the military as a family medicine physician but, towards the end of my career as I was nearing retirement, I began to doubt the good I was doing. I began to suspect that many of the treatment guidelines I was following had been developed to push medications that had the chance to do as much bad as good. So, I spent a year studying acupuncture with the intent of opening an acupuncture clinic after military retirement.

I had the opportunity to take over the acupuncture practice of one of the teachers who was moving. When I examined the practice though I found that she made much of her income as a neurology consultant and Chief of Staff of the local hospital, jobs I wouldn't have. In the end, I just transitioned from active military to being a civilian in a military clinic.

I still have doubts about many of the medications I prescribe, but I share those doubts honestly with patients and assist them in making good decisions about their treatment. I forgot most of the acupuncture, but I'm nearing a second retirement so maybe I should dust off those skills and take another look at that option.

Sort:  

Be a civilian in a military clinic just means that you continued to be a doctor in a military clinic but that you were working there as a civilian and not as a military personnel, right? Sorry, I’m not very familiar with military lingo.

Combining holistic healing with western medicine seems like it would have a lot of value, especially if there is a trusted doctor behind the practice who will honestly talk to you about the risks of medicines.

Yeah. I took off the uniform but do the same job.

To that bring about any changes in duties/responsibilities?

Since I'm no longer in the military, I don't have any administrative responsibilities such as being the senior medical officer.

Is that essentially a leading doctor position that makes you accountable for all the other doctors in the unit and their actions and mishaps, if any? If so, I imagine relinquishing that role would relieve you of a lot of stress.

No everyone is responsible for his or her own actions and mishaps. The SMO is mainly a liaison between the leadership and the staff physicians. Meetings, paperwork, no fun...

I see. Well, it sounds like a good thing that you were able to step down from that. I’ll be curious to hear if you pursue acupuncture again down the road.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 57453.27
ETH 2928.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67