Books I Love - Poetry Anthology compiled by Czeslaw Milosz

in #books6 years ago (edited)

I thought I would occasionally write about books I love, that I often read and re-read, that have made an impact on my life and continue to inspire and amaze me.

A Book of Luminous Things - An International Poetry Anthology, edited by the late Czeslaw Milosz

IMG_2627.jpg

The hundreds of poems in this book are broken up by the somewhat whimsical categories of Epiphany, Nature, The Secret of a Thing, Travel, Places, The Moment, People Among People, Woman's Skin, Situation and History

There are too many poems I love in this book to mention all of them, but here are a few.

"Notice" by Steve Kowit uses the humor of a banal event to point out the fragility of life.

"Thank you, My Fate" and I wash the shirt are two of many poems included in the anthology by Anna Swir, whose work is a constant revelation and inspiration.

Another Polish poet this anthology introduced me to isTadeusz Rozewick. In the years since I first bought this book, I've searched out other anthologies and collections by Polish and other Eastern European poets, whose work resonates deeply with me. Here one of his poems featured in this anthology, entitled "A Voice".

While I've chosen to highlight Polish poets in this post, this anthology is special because Czeslaw Milosz has created an international anthology of poets from around the world that spans centuries. It was here that I first read Chinese poets such as Li Ching Chao, a female poet who lived almost a thousand years ago.

Over the years I've lent this book to friends many times. Most recently I lent it last year and unfortunately did not get it back, but was happy to find it still in print, and was able to order another copy online. I'd highly recommend this anthology to anyone with even a slight interest in poetry. I've spent many a Sunday morning reading and rereading poems written over the ages while eating breakfast. It is truly time well spent!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69692.63
ETH 3775.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76