My Internal Conflict Regarding Stephen Lawhead

in #books5 years ago (edited)

IMG_20191004_203620289~2.jpg

I just finished In the Region Of the Summer Stars by Stephen Lawhead. It's the first book in his most recent trilogy. While it's not a bad book, it's also not a great book. I really wanted to like this book. I count Stephen Lawhead among my favorite authors. His Song of Albion trilogy and the Pendragon cycle are books I've read and reread several times. And Byzantium is in my top 5 books of all time.

But.... this book is now the 2nd start of a trilogy that I've read where afterward I didn't feel the need to read the rest of the series. I also read the first book of his Robin Hood series and was similarly unimpressed. I also read the entire Celtic Crusades trilogy, but if I'm honest with myself, I didn't love it.

But the thing I'm struggling with is that I don't know if his later books are not as good as his earlier books, or if I just enjoy different books now. Have I changed or has he?

I haven't read any of his earlier works in probably 7 years at this point, and I'm not sure I want to. I'd rather just retain my positive memories of those books, and not mess with a good thing. Plus, there are plenty of other books out there that I haven't read yet. But maybe I'm lying to myself. Maybe I should just accept the possibility that I don't like Stephen Lawhead as much as I used to.

Sort:  

I read the Robin Hood series. The first one does start slowly, but I enjoyed the rest of the books as well. I can't speak to the current series though.

I know what you mean about not being sure if you changed or if the author changed. I liked some of Brandon Sanderson's books, but haven't been as impressed with his recent works. I ended up regretting buying the most recent one I got and doubt I'll get the next installment when it comes out. We'll see though.

Always sucks to realize that either you, or the author you loved, or both have become different people over the years. That's why the library is so great, since it gives you a chance to try before you buy. If you read it and love it, grab a copy for yourself. If you start it and it's not what you hoped, hey, you're only out some time.

I've never read Lawhead, alas, so I can't say whether he's drifted around or not.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64420.25
ETH 3150.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99