You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: SPECULATIONS ON PLOT BY AN AMATEUR WRITER

in #books6 years ago

I am writing, or attempting to write a criminal mystery with an element of deception. With the progression of the novel, the narrator who follows the perspective of the main character starts being untrustworthy. The whole reason for doing this is of course to leave mystery for the reader and to plant doubt. Otherwise, it would not be so interesting.

Some mystery is good but I still think the reader seeks a sense of completion at least by the end of the novel. I do think what you are looking for exists out there. I just don't know its name.

Sort:  

I like that one. The narrator in doubt... Wow. It means the narrator would question everything the characters say, and as a result the reader will doubt the characters. Now that is something. It would definitely make for a good story.


Completion is the norm, but must it be so? I have seen movies in which the end did not tie all the loose ends but left me speculating on what happened after the movie ended. Would it be bad to have a book like that?
I would like to think that no story truly cones to an end except with death. And they lived happily ever after does not cut it for me. No one lives happily ever after.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63793.53
ETH 3193.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.92