30 of the best motivating quotes about books and reading.

in #books6 years ago

IMG_20180519_224519_905.jpgIt shouldn't be a surprise to you that I love to read books. And thankfully, I'm not the only one who feels this way. From Jim Rohn to Dr. Seuss to Abraham Lincoln, here are 30 of my favorite quotes that express the magical ability books have to challenge us, inspire us, and to help us grow.

Whenever life gets busy or you're feeling unmotivated, let these quotes serve as a reminder about the importance and pleasure books can have on your life.

  1. "If we encounter a man of rare intellect, we should ask him what books he reads." - Ralph Waldo Emerson

  2. "You can’t buy happiness, but you can buy books and that’s kind of the same thing." – Anonymous

  3. "The book you don’t read won’t help." - Jim Rohn

  4. "Wisdom is not a product of schooling but of the lifelong attempt to acquire it.” - Albert Einstein

  5. "If you are going to get anywhere in life you have to read a lot of books.” - Roald Dahl

  6. "My best friend is a person who will give me a book I have not read." - Abraham Lincoln

  7. "The more that you read, the more things you will know. The more that you learn, the more places you’ll go." - Dr. Seuss

  8. "Books can be dangerous. The best ones should be labeled “This could change your life.” - Helen Exley

  9. "I shall be miserable if I have not an excellent library.” - Jane Austen

  10. "A reader lives a thousand lives before he dies. The man who never reads lives only one.” - George R. R. Martin

  11. "The difference between where you are today and where you'll be five years from now will be found in the quality of books you've read."- Jim Rohn

  12. "Books were my pass to personal freedom.” - Oprah Winfrey

  13. "A room without books is like a body without a soul.” - Cicero

  14. "I know how to learn anything I want to learn. I absolutely know that I could learn how to fly the space shuttle because someone else knows how to fly it, and they put it in a book. Give me the book, and I do not need somebody to stand up in front of the class." - Will Smith

  15. "If you go home with somebody, and they don't have books, don't fuck 'em!" - John Waters
    IMG_20180519_224420_966.jpg

  16. "I owe everything I am and everything I will ever be to books." - Gary Paulsen

  17. "People don't realize how a man's whole life can be changed by one book." - Malcolm X

  18. "The reading of all good books is like conversation with the finest men of past centuries." - René Descartes

  19. "It wasn't until I started reading and found books they wouldn't let us read in school that I discovered you could be insane and happy and have a good life without being like everybody else." - John Waters

  20. "Of all things, I liked books the best." - Nikola tesla

  21. "If the crowns of all the kingdoms of Europe were laid down at my feet in exchange for my books and my love of reading, I would spurn them all.” - François Fenelon

  22. "I cannot live without books.” - Thomas Jefferson

  23. "There is more treasure in books than in all the pirate’s loot on Treasure Island.” - Walt Disney

  24. "Read the best books first, or you may not have a chance to read them at all.” - Henry David Thoreau

  25. "Books open your mind, broaden your mind, and strengthen you as nothing else can.” - William Feather

  26. "A book worth reading is worth buying.” - John Ruskin

  27. "I cannot sleep unless I am surrounded by books." - Jorge Luis Borges

  28. "Books are what you step on to take you to a higher shelf. The higher your stack of books, the higher the shelf you can reach. Want to reach higher? Stack some more books under your feet! Reading is what brings us to new knowledge. It opens new doors. It helps us understand mysteries. It lets us hear from successful people. Reading is what takes us down the road in our journey. Everything you need for a better future and success has already been written." - Jim Rohn

  29. "Miss a meal if you have to, but don't miss a book." - Jim Rohn

  30. "Ordinary people have big TVs. Extraordinary people have big libraries." - Robin Sharma

So there you go. Hopefully these quotes have inspired you as much as they have inspired me✌💖

Sort:  

The more that you read, the more things you will know. The more that you learn, the more places you’ll go

Good advice-

Exactly, thanks for coming around.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62916.93
ETH 3028.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67