More old lithographs, engravings and prints.

in #books5 years ago

Here are the latest art pics from old books I have come across.


Edward Okun, 1901.


"Waltz" by Fidus, 1894. Lithograph.


"Friends In Need Meet In The Wildwood", wood engraving by Edward Burne-Jones, 1896. From novel "The Well At The World's End" by William Morris.


"Ophelia" by Edmond Aman-Jean, late 19th century.


Book plate, early 1900s.


Engraving, 1880s. Found in a deteriorating book on biblical history. The pic doesn't do it justice.
The fine print says designed by Dore and engraved by Dougal, so I'm guessing it was originally a Gustave Doré print .Looks like it may have originally been a mezzotint that was rendered by an engraver. Some of those 19th century engravers were AMAZING.

Sort:  

Indeed, that last picture looks like it has a ton of detail for an engraving. I like the first one as well. There is something very far east about it that appeals to me. Thanks for sharing these!

Those are pretty impressive. I find the one of the womans face that partially faded a bit creepy. Still very cool though

Posted using Partiko Android

That's a neat way of appreciating art. I never really would have thought of old books as being a source of such beautiful creations. Very cool. Next time I go to the library I'll have to take a peak into some of the older books.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64136.70
ETH 3128.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94