Maybe the best book on writing you'll ever read

in #books6 years ago (edited)

I've been writing for about 10 years now and FINALLY read Anne Lamott's "Bird by Bird". Why did I wait so long?!
Well, for one—I've been focused on copy and news writing for the past 10 years, and this book suits longform writers. After publishing my first eguide this year, I've decided to embark on writing a collection of short stories and a book about how people are finding ways to gain a better work-life balance around the world. Fiction is totally new to me, and after floundering a few times after writing some things I wouldn't show to anyone, I picked up this book. And I'm so glad I did.

It's funny, it's honest, it makes me feel like the crazy stuff that goes on in my head when I write is totally normal. It also feels good to read about reading, because I don't meet that many people who read anything beyond self-help and business, or the latest bestsellers. Reading has been one of my favourite activities since I was a little girl. I used to sit on my mom's lap and watch her turn the pages, pretending I could read the John Grisham novels Mom loved. I was fascinated by the quiet focus and so badly wanted to understand the stories bound inside those beautiful covers.
"Because for some of us, books are as important as almost anything else on earth. What a miracle it is that out of these small, flat, rigid squares of paper unfolds world after world after world, worlds that sing to you, comfort and quiet or excite you..."
Beautiful. And if you're a writer and you haven't read this yet, you're missing out!

Sort:  

This is a great guide--I use a few chapters when teaching a post-secondary writing and publishing course. I especially love the chapter on "Shitty First Drafts."

That chapter was so useful. I feel like people are very unforgiving for first drafts. Even when I write short blogs, the first draft isn't nearly as polished as the final. Great that you're teaching this to younger people!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65035.33
ETH 2950.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66