Meditations by Marcus Aurelius [Favorite Books]

in #books6 years ago

giphy.gif

The happiness of your life depends upon the quality of your thoughts: therefore, guard accordingly, and take care that you entertain no notions unsuitable to virtue and reasonable nature. - Marcus Aurelius

For years I spit back confusion and wrapped myself in the black static of my fantasies. I was a horror writer and so I fancied myself to have black leather wings sewn out of grief and a mind warped by insanity. I created an ego that couldn't accept happiness. A few years ago that changed, and I talk some about that in my PTSD series. A huge part of recovering was learning how to change my thought processes, and to be open to new ideas.

I started branching out in my reading, and picking up different books than my usual glut of horror.

Meditations by Marcus Aurelius (also available for free in a pdf) was easily one of my favorites reads back in 2017. I'm not one to proselytize and I don't think any singular text or person should be revered. Nothing is sacred in this world, and so you should take the teachings that appeal to you and discard the rest. However if I could I would probably emboss a copy of Meditations in gold for my library to remind myself how useful it's been to me.

Meditations was written by Roman emperor Marcus Aurelius, and reveals the stoic and virtuous man that he aimed to be amidst a reign marked by disasters and war.

Meditations at its core is about recognizing what's outside of our control, so that we can focus on the things that are.

It's about recognizing that life is preciously finite, all of our actions will ultimately be ground into the dust, so we must focus on what's important

At dawn, when you have trouble getting out of bed, tell yourself: ‘I have to go to work – as a human being. What do I have to complain of, if I’m going to do what I was born for – the things I was brought into the world to do? Or is this what I was created for? To huddle under the blankets and stay warm?’

It's about becoming virtuous not just because it's good, but because it's the best way to maxmize your potential and live your human life as it was meant to be lived.

It's actually a fairly short read, and although a few hundred years old actually quite simple and relatable. Although most of us aren't going to have Emperor sized problems, Marcus Aurelius writes in a way that makes the issues relatable to anyone, which is probably why the book has survived so long.

tumblr_o3fvsjD8tw1qmvvt6o1_1280.png

You can find me on Twitter, Facebook, and my website. You can also buy one of my books here.

Other Posts You May Be Interested In:
What the Fuck, Autumn, Seriously? [Psycho-Surreal Memoirs]
The Search for the Perfect Leather Jacket
A Late Night Anarchist Grocery List And Other Notes [Writer's Journal]
Sunny Outside, Storm Inside [Writer's Journal]
The Writer Writes the Same Damn Thing [Psycho-Surreal Memoirs]
I Like Watching You Learn How to Be Alive [PTSD Series: Part 5]
The Importance of Narrative Design in Video Games

Sort:  

I will definitely read this book; to try to open my range of thoughts and actions, definitely focusing on the transcendent things of my life. Thanks for the recommendation. Greetings.

Thanks for the link. I have read favourable reports of Aurelius' writings in the past, so I think it's time to read at least one of of his works. Good to read about your view of this material, and what it has done to help you.

Thank you again for recommending this to me at a time when I really needed to hear just the things he had to say.

Thanks for the link. Another one of the things I should get to read. Whew.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61994.03
ETH 2917.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62