Book Around You #3 - Curation of Book Posts

in #books6 years ago


Source

Welcome to the third edition of Book Around You, a curation project from @steemitbooks. It's been seven days since the last curation post and it's (past) time for another!

These curation posts will be as frequent as possible but sometimes life gets too busy to do them. But even if I can't write a curation post I do my best to check for book posts almost everyday to upvote
That said, lets do this mates!

Book Reviews

Read Between the Wines #7: Swords, Sorcery, and Epic Fantasy by @shellyduncan

Warning: this posts contains a large amount of fantasy books aka time-eaters.

Great little list of a few long fantasy series comprised of long books. I'll have to check a few of these out! Reminds me of the saying that a fantasy book doubles as a blunt weapon in case of robbery.

You can never get a cup of tea large enough or a book long enough to suit me.

C. S. Lewis

Treasure Hunt by @milosm2302


Sometimes it's not really the words in the book but the book itself. There is nothing like flipping through the golden pages of an old book. While some people may not see this as a proper book review, I think we can agree that sometimes the story isn't so much in the book as the story is the book.

This story reminded me of the old man in Les Miserables who loved books so much. Then he gradually had to sell them to pay for food. That part of the book hit me so hard :'(

Book Artists

A fun Steemit Commision by @donnadavisart


@donnadavisart has been doing some awesome art for the book project. Check out this divider and the header she also did in this post. Give her some upvotes as a thank you and check out her blog for some other cool art.

The Beautiful and the Sublime of Alice's Books by @ilhuna


This post is why I wish I had posted this sooner. It's such a cool piece of book-inspired art and now it's too late for you guys to upvote it. :( Cheshire Cat is the ultimate Wonderland character in the books and in fan-fiction and I love this depiction. Hopefully @ilhuna will do some more book art in the future!

A Book in the Hand

6 Ways to Curb Your Tsundoku by @artgirl

I plead guilty to this one. I have so many books I've gotten and never read and keep telling myself I need to read. The part about going to bookstores is especially true. Not only is it dangerous when you have extra money, it's just as bad if you're short on money. This is a great resource to get through your books... if you can abide by it :D

So many books, so little time.

Frank Zappa

Caring for your Book Collection by @petruska13

If you like reading, you most likely have some physical books lying around your house. While this post was written for the book collecting where you buy rare books, it also applies for all of us who collect books in every part of our houses. @petruska13 does a great job of listing things we should protect our books from. Definitely check it out!

Adding unto his point about not packing your books to tight, they tell us, at the library where I work, that you should be able to easily take a book out using only one finger on top of the book. If you can't it is too tight and someone will eventually rip it while taking it out

Contests/Giveaways

Adventure Reading Contest by @therovingreader

We can all agree that reading is an adventure. This contest challenges you to share your adventure with others by writing about, and snapping a picture of, the book you're reading and where you're reading it at. And no, you don't have to read anywhere special. Even if you're in your bed you can still have an adventure! Excuse me, I think I heard something under my bed...

Deadline: Sunday, March 11 at 8 PM UTC

Epilogue

Enjoy your reading! If you can, try to support these authors with an upvote. If you're an Bibliophagist (book devourer) consider writing some book posts of your own. Everyone's always looking for more books to add to their shelves.

The Steemit Book Project was started by @carn and its goal is to make books more available to everyone. All the profits from this and other posts by @steemitbooks will be used to buy books to donate to Open Library. For more info about the project and ways you can help, read the project's introduction post.

If you write book-related posts, drop by our Discord channel (https://discord.gg/h93nHMu) and post a link to them in our curation-requests channel.

Sort:  

Thank you! I appreciate you find my post interesting. :D

Thanks for promoting my care of books post, it is appreciated. I will read the projects introductory post. I wholeheartedly approve of promoting books and reading.

As a certifiable bibliophile it’s always great to see posts on books. Not enough people actually care about reading or books. Thanks for this effort, resteeming.

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly � Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69995.16
ETH 3735.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.74