Pay to play upvote bots?

in #bots6 years ago

As a new steemit user i'm still trying to wrap my head around the whole of steem and its company. One thing which I would love to understand better are the bots, they offer powerful upvotes if sent steem or crypto to the right addresses. Some use a lottery system, many people pay only a few get votes. Sometimes its a pay for our whale upvote, or just giving the right information and private key to @minnowbooster whom has (I think) been positive for new users on the platform. I do follow @aggroed and I like what he has done very much, maybe he will see this and offer some commentary on bots and why they have become such a force.
Screen Shot 2017-12-31 at 3.50.06 PM.png

General bot vote boosting artical Most request a minimal amount of steem power and SBD to join. It is summarized as "if I join my .01 posts might get a whole SBD or Steem power upvote". Is this true? Why should I support the automatization of the Steem platform? I was looking forward to a primarily human audience when I learned of Steem. Of course I would like to benefit from posting software, I just can't bring myself to give my private keys currently. I advise against doing so if you are new or want this platform to be a longer term investment. I recently read the term feast today famine tomorrow
@diverse-thinker's how to join @minnowsuppourt upvoteing bot team. I figured it was worth trying at the requested price, especially since it claims it will reward me far more than it cost to join. However I learned I have to give my private key to them and allow them to vote on my behalf which while seemingly reasonable basically makes me a bot. Which I don't want to be. 2017-12-31  16_26_26.jpg

Final question... should I become a bot?

My answer is currently no since I would rather see human votes on my posts ensuring real followers and interested folks. Even if this means fewer rewards, which is fine since I feel that the value of the platform will rise enough over time that these little rewards will still be substantial if saved for the future. Probably at least until 2020.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69831.92
ETH 3744.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77