Boulder Sunday with Dogs

in #bouldersunday5 years ago (edited)

IMG_20190725_163319024_HDR 1  Copy.jpg
This is Jimmy. Jimmy was a very bad dog in the house this morning, but let's not talk about that.

Jimmy, like me, is not photogenic. I have picture after picture of him (and me) with his (my) mouth hanging open, or his (my) slightly plump figure looking downright fat, or he's (I'm) looking the wrong way etc. But I like this one of him about to jump down off this pile of boulders in my yard.

Maybe I should try to take a selfie while jumping down off a pile of boulders and see if that works for me.


IMG_20190601_161515135_HDR 2.jpg

Bear with me a bit here and allow me to post a pix of a flower without boulders.

I'm still taking photos on my stupid phone, and finding that I have little control over light. Whenever I try to take a pix of something that is white with the sun shining on it, this flower for instance, the picture has a blazing white blotch where the flower should be. I've finally figured out that I get better results overall if the phone/camera is not itself in the sun (duh, I now know), but I still haven't solved the problem of photographing white things. I need a real camera!


IMG_20190804_130356929.jpg
This is the boulder I was shooting when Sidney the Hopping Dog appeared at my side last week: https://steempeak.com/dailypetphotography/@owasco/other-peoples-pets. I was fascinated by the sunlight on the rock and tried to capture it. Of course, my stupid phone made it look more like snow than like sunlight. I like the effect this time though.


IMG_20190804_130418821.jpg
My county, Rockland County, is aptly named, and huge boulders are encountered whenever one tries to dig a hole. Here's a big one my neighbor pried out years ago, with the help of a backhoe, to make way for a flower bed. I like the colors on this rock, the lichen (I think it is lichen) and the shadow of the maple leaf. I have walked by this boulder countless times in the past 20 years and never given it a moment's thought until I started trying to take pictures for #bouldersunday hosted by @shasta.

I'm starting to love the ubiquitous rocks in this place. Thanks for the challenge!


IMG_20160909_141016.jpg

And I'm finishing up with a picture of Ringo, because I miss him and today is his birthday.

Thanks for stopping in!


PHC-Footer-05.gif

Sort:  

Jimmy looks sweet, when he isn't being bad! And Ringo is adorable...

Try taking a photo of something white when the sun isn't shining directly on it, like stand in front of it so the light is coming in from the sites, or wait until the sun is behind a tree, or whatever. I think you will succeed then!

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

@owasco Jimmy is a pretty little dog, I can see why you can not be mad at whatever he did. Happy Birthday to Ringo by you saying you miss him, I take it he has gone over the rainbow bridge. I am sorry he is no longer with you.

Yeah he's a goner. Not even a year ago yet.
And I was very mad at Jimmy. It's not like him though, so maybe there is something wrong. erg.

I have a real camera, though a very old one, point and shoot type. I've only twice managed to photograph white flowers and have them look like the flower. I've never figured out what light scheme works, mostly because I can't remember any thing....

Ringo was a cute little guy. :))

It's good to know I'm not alone then. I need a camera, a point and shoot with no bells and whistles. Well, maybe a whistle, but no bells!

Ringo was one of those dogs. I miss him terribly sometimes.

Everything, including boulders, is better with a dog. I bet Jimmy was glad to go out boulder'ing with you.

And yes, you need a new camera. :)

He's very lazy! But he does get excited that we are going out, and loves having his picture taken because it means I am paying attention to him.
Thanks for coming by!

Hi @owasco,

Thanks so much for partaking in #dailypetphotography! Please follow @dpet for upcoming events.
Our discord channel is up and running, come on over and say hi, lots of avil pet owners are awaiting you there.
https://discord.gg/GYrnsNm

I love boulders with dogs! Beautiful photographs @owasco!
The lighting is wonderful and the lichens! I like the shot with
the huge tree behind the boulder. That boulder was waiting for
you! Awesome photos and sweet pups! Thank you for sharing! :-)

You are so sweet. Love your challenge, it has lightened my step I swear. I'd like to get in on the shadow contest next. But perhaps that will have to wait until I get me a real camera, not this toy one on my phone.

Nice dogs! (I think Jimmy is cute.)

Me encanta que lindo, yo tambien tengo a Nano mi perrito pincher. @owasco

I love how cute, I also have Nano my pincher puppy. @owasco

What a cute little doggie.

Well, I stopped using my phone as a camera. In the small phone screen it always looked good but when I moved the photos to the PC, I was always disappointed. My old Canon IXUS 210 fits easily in a pocket and does a much better job than any of my phones! 😎

Thanks for that info! I'm spending way too much time futzing with both the phone and the pix afterwards. I need to step up my game!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64485.37
ETH 3156.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05