Why do we remember emotions?

in #brain6 years ago (edited)

Think for a moment what do you remember from your childhood and generally from the past...

I bet most of the things you remember are related to some emotion, whether good or bad. Why is it like that? Why do we remember better things where we were emotionally engaged? To give an answer to those questions first we have to learn about memory and emotions pathways and how are they made.

Fact that we use only 10% of our brain is long past history and now we know that we use the whole brain, but still, we are not 100% sure how and for what.

Memory

Memory is a complicated process and we can say it is part personally, but there are some facts and rules that we know and what we can use to improve our memory.


Image source - 123RF

Whan we talk about memory, the most known type are the short-term and long-term memory. At the figure below you can see specific parts of the brain and there relation to the specific type of memory.


Image source

Different types of memory work together. Our senses collect information that is stored in sensory memory. If we include attention, sensory memory is transformed into short-term memory. Based on the importance of short-term memory it could be stored in long-term memory.

Memory and emotions

Of course, there are other really important processes like brain anatomy, plasticity and attention that would be great to study before memory bu in this post I will stay focused on the connection between memory and emotions.
If you analyze figure above you can see that long-term memory is beside others related to medial temporal lobe


Image source Part of the medial temporal lobe

As you can see, the parts are hippocampus, amygdala, mammillary bodies and olfactory bulb.
Hippocampus is part of the brain that keeps us out from living in the past. It creates memories. In case of Alzheimer, disease hippocampus is first affected and there is no ability to memorize. Amygdala is the part of the brain that is placed in limbic system same as the hippocampus and it is also known as "emotional brain".
Can you already see the connection between memory and emotion? :) I bet you can!! Yes, there is an interaction between those two systems that are normally independent. Those interactions are still not clearly investigated and we still don't know how that process happens.

There are few theories for now...but one of the most accepted is that amygdala primarily enhances episodic memory, what could be related to emotions 1

Well at the end..if you want to make someone to remember use neuroscience in a way of making something/someone emotionally involved or use specific smell or music :)

p.s. be aware of neuromarketing! It is used a lot and it controls you subconsciously.

References:

Human emotion and memory: interactions of the amygdala
and hippocampal complex

There are Different Types of Memory

Sort:  

This is true, I vividly remember when I was a little baby and we went to a pool, I wanted my mom to hold me but it was my aunt the one that grabbed me and took me inside the pool, I was so mad because all I wanted was to be with my mom and not with my aunt, and I remember I cried a lot in that pool.

It was before I could learn how to speak but I have always remember that moment.

Hi @senka. Nice article. I would like to point out one thing related to your article:

  • I don't think you can use all of the images that you've used especially the first one. The first image has been watermarked. Please refer here if you're not familiar with I was talking about.

Please note that I'm not in any way, try to disapprove your work. You've done an excellent job here, but you can make it better. If you have any problem regarding STEM-related articles, you can join steemSTEM Discord Channel and we will be glad to assist you.

Mentor_3.png

Congratulations @senka! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @senka! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 66021.84
ETH 2981.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70