Why sourdough? Being slow makes you happysteemCreated with Sketch.

in #bread5 years ago

Bread  269.JPG

Two weeks again since my last post. Time flies. Almost like time bandits, but with insects.
Also there's the parliament election coming and I'm trying to get involved in it, so it's taking some time of my life. Even if I wouldn't really succeed in doing anything remarkable.

But sourdough.

It takes time and love.
The largest difference in baking with regular yeast and sourdough is that you usually need at least two days to get proper results with the sourdough. Let's see quickly through what I did when baking last time.

Day 1.

IMG_20190307_200024.jpg
Yes, this one is called "Starkiller".

I took out my sourdough starter from the fridge and this is what it looks like. It has a liquid on the top, which according to some is slightly acidic and helps the sourdough to cover itself from mold etc. Not sure where the liquid comes from, but it's still there.

I took most of the starter to a bowl and mixed flour and water with it. Then I also mixed some flour and water in the jar of sourdough starter to refresh the starter I had before putting it back to the fridge. The starter in the bowl was covered and left to be for 10 hours (8 is minimum I recommend) and I continued the next morning.

IMG_20190307_200448.jpg
Sourdough starter + flour + water

Day 2.

The starter in the bowl had been waiting for 10 hours and in the morning I just continued to feed the starter. I gave it more flours and water and left it for 4 more hours. The ratio was approximately 1:1:1 at this point.

As you can see, this is slow. The sourdough has different kinds of yeasts (and their tiny friends) which cause the dough to rise, but also creates acids which give the dough a sour taste. As the sourdough doesn't contain only "normal yeast", it's rising more slowly, but the slow rise is also what quite many aim for.

When the dough is rising more slowly, the flavor gets stronger. The sourness of the sourdough can be controlled - feeding it often and keeping it in warm keeps the sourdough milder and "sweeter", but feeding the dough seldom and storing it in the fridge makes the sourdough more sour. Also leaving the dough/bread to rise in the fridge makes the flavor stronger.

But now the 4 hours has passed and the sourdough looks like this:
IMG_20190308_075452.jpg

What at this point?
1 kg of flour, approximately 650 grams of water and everything in the mixer for 13 minutes, then add 20 grams of salt and a little bit of olive oil, then 9 minutes more in the mixer. It was supposed to be 7 but I wanted to give it two more minutes. What a wild life I'm living as a rebel like this.

Die rebel scum!

When I lifted the dough from the mixer I just rolled it a bit with a help of little flour and it looked beautiful like this:
Bread  260.JPG

Amazing isn't it?

Back to a bowl, some hours rest (I forgot to check the time, sorry) and when it had expanded enough the next step was to divide the dough and form it for the final rise/rest.

I used three small oven trays I had purchased and added the dough in them. They were in room temperature for 2 hours before it started to be too late and I lifted them to fridge for tomorrow. People can keep the doughs in fridge for a day or two to give it the best possible taste, but the recommended temperature is around 4 degrees Celsius. Warmer than that can be "too fast" if you want to keep it as long as possible.

Bread  264.JPG
Sorry for the light, it was just before I was going to bed.

Day 3.

In the morning I preheated the oven to 250 degrees Celsius, took the bread back from the fridge and waited for the oven to be ready. When it was ready, I cut the bread with the sharpest knife I own.

Bread  266.JPG
I still think looks a bit like female genitalia

Bread to the oven, spray water to the oven so the bread can expand and while the bread is in the oven, lower the temperature to 200 degrees Celsius. Bake the bread, bake bake bake bake bakeeee the bread.

I don't even follow how long I'm baking the bread but I'm using a digital temperature meter to find out if the bread is ready (I'm aiming to 96 degrees Celsius).

Bread  268.JPG

The bread is ready. Oh the joy.
I started to make the bread over 36 hours before it was finished. If I'd wanted to make this into a really good bread, I'd waited a longer time. But with enough butter, this will do very well too.

Bread  269.JPG

Did I respond to the question in the title?
Maybe I did, maybe I didn't. The slow baking makes me calmer. I don't have a hurry to bake, I feel like I'm doing something when I'm actually just waiting.

Sourdough baking feels really stress-free, while giving me better results than "traditional baking".
The sourdough has a life of it's own and it is a friend of mine.

That's why I stick it in the oven and kill it.

Sort:  

Well, in a way sour dough saves time. The preparation of the bread is made in different stages you can integrate in your daily live: "feeding" the sour dough early in the morning, adding flour, water, salt etc. in the afternoon when you come home. Then you have time to do housework, cooking, browsing your Steem feed before you can knead (or fold) the bread again, followed by some more free time to do things before you can finally put the loaves into the oven ;)

That's true, it can save time! I think sourdough is very forgiving and gives more flexibility, even though in total it requires more time but you don't need to rush anything.

Maybe the only point when you can't leave the bread to be for hours is when it's baking in the oven. :)

My favorite thing as a child, grandpa would put in more oil, a little salt, and some sugar and make some fried donuts with the sourdough that we rolled in cinnamon sugar afterwards. Baking is a lot of fun. Love seeing your bread posts.

That sounds good!

I'ev learned people do all kinds of stuff with "extra sourdough" when baking, one most popular option in here is pancakes. Maybe I could make sourdough donuts too...

I still think looks a bit like female genitalia

You certainly have an active imagination.

Congratulations on turning your disgusting jar of infection into an edible delight.

Imagination brings joy to life!

And thank you, owning a jar of infection is something people seem to be jealous about.

Especially if you're a super villain.

Maybe @suesa knows a colleague with a rare strain and you two can take over the world, one bread at a time.

I can work on that

"What are you working on?"
"I'm trying to create... THE ULTIMATE STRAIN!"
"Oh. A strain of what?"
"Yeast."

I could try going super villain with this.

"Ha-ha, Batman! As we speak, the sourdough spread through bakeries around the city will activate.
Now all the people will have a slight sour taste in their bread. You can't stop me anymore!"

That sounds truly diabolical.

I could try growing yeast infection yeast too and throw it on people, but not sure if I want to do that.

That's a little more gross and more smelly guy who runs around in a trench-coat in the park then super villain...

Congratulations @apsu! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 4250 replies. Your next target is to reach 4500 replies.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Are you a DrugWars early adopter? Benvenuto in famiglia!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Dear apsu:

We are SteemBet, the next generation STEEM based gaming platform. We are honored to invite you to join our first fantastic dice game, which is just the beginning of SteemBet game series. Our dividend system has now launched. The prize pool has already accumulated 2,000 STEEM and more than 60 players have participated in staking mining token SBT. A huge reward of 40,000 STEEM is awaiting! Join us NOW with other 500 STEEM users to loot HUGE dividend reward!!

SteemBet Team

Official Website
https://steem-bet.com

Discord Server
https://discord.gg/95cBN3W

Telegram Group
https://t.me/steembet

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64140.77
ETH 3133.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.15