#breadbakers | Honey and Walnut Bread

in #breadbakers5 years ago

Here's today's offering, looking a little better than the bread machine managed earlier in the week (I think the bread machine may have finished its useful life, that was the third disappointing loaf in a row). It's honey and walnut - I used this recipe for ideas and then deviated 😊.

20190209_195308.jpg

The main difference was using more water than it said in the recipe. This was part accident, part intention. I had meant to try more water, but not that much! I think I added 350ml water, as well as the runny honey and olive oil. It was a very sticky dough and needed quite a lot of flour adding before I was able to knead it successfully.

The honey was added with the water and oil to the flour and yeast in the bowl (I dissolved the salt in the water). It came together very quickly and, as soon as it was dry enough to handle, I added the walnuts. I left it to prove about an hour and a half (a bread pudding was baking in the oven) and than another hour or so in the loaf pan. I tried scoring the top, but I'm not sure that made any difference!

It looks and smells very nice, but we haven't tried the butter test yet - too much bread pudding and then dinner.

Incidentally, I couldn't get the butter I usually buy so I've bought some sunflower spread to try. It says no hydrogenated oils, no artificial additives (whatever they are) and no GM ingredients. It's cheaper than butter and has less calories, but as the largest ingredient is water, so it should be. I've just noticed it carries the Vegan symbol and is made with "certified sustainable palm oil."

We'll see what it tastes like.

Sort:  

Oh no another bread machine death will you be purchasing another @shanibeer, the texture of this one as definitely turned out better than the last, I love both walnut and honey, surely this must be a tasty one.

I don't think I will buy another one, they are quite expensive and take up a lot of room (I bought a compact one before and it's not made any more). Anyway, I have discovered how easy it is to hand make bread :)

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Thank you so much for participating in the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66137.63
ETH 3161.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.13