You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Sourdough experiment

in #breadbakers5 years ago

What a lovely experiment, I love the jar all swaddled in its cloth. I'm just wondering where I would put such a thing ... there isn't anywhere in the house that has a constant temperature day and night. I'm really looking forward to how the experiment turns out, please keep us posted 😍
The website looks wonderful! I see there is a translater as well.
I've just bought a new brand of yeast and I am not happy with it at all - the bread hasn't risen properly and the crust hasn't coloured well. Perhaps that will nudge me towards some handmade bread, baked in the oven. I do have the cast iron dish. Let's see ...

Sort:  

I had the same problem with the temperature, as we normally do not heat in the night. But these heaters are so old that they hold the warmth very well (but they weigh a ton). So, I thought packing the sourdough up and putting it on the heater will help. And today I can report: it did. No idea if the right bacteria are growing, but something is growing as the dough has started to bubble and it is much more liquid than yesterday. I have feed it today and put it in a bigger bowl... so exciting :-DD
20190105_092849804_iOS.jpg
Lutz Geißler recommend putting the starter into the baking oven on the lowest setting or to put it into the oven with only the lamp glowing and accompanied by a hot water bottle... could this work for you?
And I love his website. I heard about him on a podcast and only afterwards discovered how famous he is. @akipponn mentioned more books from him, which are even more advanced. But sadly, none of them are in English.
With the yeast... here you can mostly buy one brand of fresh yeast and diverse dry yeast, the latter I have never tried. I only use the fresh variety but did not know/noticed differences in the dough. For Lutz Geißlers yeast breads you use only a very small amount of yeast (about 4 gram per bread) and rely on the wild yeast which is growing over time. This worked good for me (so far).
I am curious of your next bread and what you will change!!!
(If you find a recipe in German, I can translate it... but I think there are even more good books on baking in English than in German)

Your starter looks good! How many days do you have to nurture it before you make the bread?

I think l. Geißler wrote four days...But for the first bread maybe some additional yeast necessary. I think I have to read the explanation again 😂

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61766.85
ETH 3081.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82