The Dhammatalaka Pagoda (Birmingham Buddhist Vihara )

in #buddistvihara7 years ago

Today I went for a walk and went past the Birmingham Buddist Vihara . Everytime I go past it it feels very serene and relaxing , and one day I will go in and find out more about it.

20170702_102216.jpg

This is the largest Theravada Buddhist Peace Pagoda in Europe and was opened in 1998.

The name Dhamma-Talaka means "reservoir of truth", to reflect the fact that it is adjacent to the Edgbaston Reservoir.

In 2002, the Birmingham Buddhist Vihara moved to this new site from nearby carlyle road site.

Sort:  

thats beautiful and serene, let us know what it is like inside when you visit it again

I am going to go in one day , a neighbour said they have open days when you can go inside and have a look around, hopefully let me take some pictures .

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 71067.77
ETH 3831.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.44