Discovery: A Drop in the Ocean Topic

in #buddyup6 years ago (edited)

dream-mirror.jpg

DISCOVERY

About a year and a half ago I discovered a community of people who believe the earth is flat. My girlfriend noticed a friend on Facebook commenting about this theory and quickly started researching the topic.

At first I didn't think much of it and sort of dismissed her on this for a while. But she started getting to know some of the people talking about other topics such as life, technology, and some conspiracy theories.

So I started paying more attention and I discovered an amazing group of fun and intelligent people. None of my lifelong friends had ever talked about these subjects in great depth and length.

I became highly intrigued in the idea that the world we live in may not be what we were taught in school.

Since I've been more involved in this community I have also begun to question reality and what life is truly about. Have we been lied to our entire lives or just told half truths? What is the true nature of the world we live in and what will humanity ultimately become with rapid advancements in technology?

Now don't misunderstand me, I'm not saying I 100% believe the earth is flat but it is an interesting theory if you look into it more.

I have also stopped watching TV and most movies. Still watch an occasional Marvel movie but for the most part I stay away from the supposed mind control. I have discovered I think much clearer now when I'm not always concerned with what the next TV show I want to binge watch will be.

Try it sometime. Get outside more and discover the world around you.

You may just learn something new and exciting.

FB_IMG_1532272183598.jpg

Sort:  

I was soooooooooooo intrigued with the whole flat earth thing too!

not so much that i believed the earth was flat - just - like you, that it makes you wonder what is true, and what is perception, and what is taught over and over again to the point that we don't doubt it.

we stop questioning.

i'm a firm believer in questioning things - even things that we have held for our lifetimes. there is no harm in questioning! the truth should be able to stand firm under the most direct scrutiny!

but i also think that there are things that we can get side-tracked with... that have little impact on our lives.

which category does flat earth fall into? hmmmm well. i think when you think of the shape of the earth - it doesn't matter too much unless your livelihood relies on the shape. math - calculactions - accuracy - all that.

I've seen some things that are very detailed in how BOTH theories could actually be equally believable. (but i've never researched either one to the point where I really care so much hehehehee)

FOR ME... and only for me - it's a matter of really wondering about IF there was a lie that was so pervasive and so deeply rooted in our society, that no one dared to question it - else they fall into the "oh you're one of them crazy folks" category hahahahahaha .... IF that existed to the point where people were AFRAID to question things....

THAT'S where the problem lies. and - i think it's safe to say that the government isn't always truthful to us. There are a lot of things that they hide after the fact in the heart of "protecting" us from the manic panic that will ensue if the truth was out there.

eh. i think what it comes down to is simple.

Research. Discover. Apply what matters to you. Let the rest fall away.

I loved this post @joelithic33 :)

Thank you Dreem! Great comment as always. It's great to hear that you are open to learning about different ideas of what our world may actually be. The people Monique has introduced me to through discord are very interesting and fun to listen to and talk to. Some intelligent deep thinkers.

very cool! i like people that think outside the box!!! :)

This is definitely an interesting theory and I'm sure we have been lied to about many things, and while I haven't given up television or my favorite shows or movies... I don't believe anything I hear and only half of what I see. It's so important to exercise due diligence with all matters. Yes, question everything... it's how we learn and how we grow and how we discover!! Nice post Joe!

Thank you Mon! My girlfriend recently invited me to be part of a couple discord servers with some amazing people who talk about flat earth and all these other interesting ideas and theories about what the world we live in may be about. They do voice chat a lot and it's so much more interesting than almost anything I've seen in documentaries or the news/ so called reality tv. Always great to listen to them.

When people develop a healthy level of skepticism they better able to discover realit9they took for granted.

Glad to have discovered this DITO post.

Thank you for your comment. I'm glad you discovered my post as well. Just followed you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 63295.30
ETH 3053.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70