You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 2.6 Million Facebook Users See Ads for Steem in January 2018!

in #budget6 years ago

PLEASE FIX THE SIGN UP PROCESS!!!

Dont get me wrong, I love steemit and Dtube (check out my page). But my older sister signed up for steemit the same day as me, and she STILL hasn't had her account approved! We also checked out AnonSteem but they charge ~$50 for accounts there.

I know we're not the only ones having this problem. Please fix the sign ups! So when all these millions of Facebook users come, they can actually get in!

thumbs up if you agree

Sort:  

I disagree, it stops the influx of fake and bot accounts, truly represents what a social media platform should do here on steemit. In my opinion, Facebook will try and implement a similar thing but I can’t see it working, especially due to steemit being so popular already. More and more people will forget Facebook and come to steemit for their daily dose of news :)

I agree on your disagree, and sorry but not sorry if someone is caught in a few days o weeks on being registered, we don't want flood, and there's only 1 way to prevent it.

At least one of you gets its :’P lol

I've learnt not to be a crybaby about waiting in line for soemthing taht's worth :p
Now i just have to learn propper english xD

fake and bot accounts have existed since the beginning of social networks. And they have never stopped them from succeeding. Sure, a few bots might come through, but there are already bots on here now! (I know because I've seen one comment one of my vids and it actually said"I am a bot")

But by making it hard for legit users to sign up, you are giving them a sour taste in their mouth. Like I said, I got approved, but my sister hasn't. It's no fun using a social network when you can't even sign up your friends and family!

The masses dont care about bots and fake accounts. Youtube, Twitter, Facebook, etc get along just fine with them and most people don't care. Because it is a very small portion of accounts.

How can we expect to Youtubers to bring their audience over, if they can't even sign up for an account?

Well it limits it to a greater degree than Facebook and I love that about it, you can sit and point out all the negatives all day but that’s not going to develop and evolve the platform is it. How about looking at all the positive aspects and look long term, this time next year, dtube will be pulling in so many youtubers, specially those that had been demonetised recently. A decentralised social network/video blog community is just what the world needs, they jut don’t necessarily know that yet :)

it stops the influx of fake and bot accounts

I respectfully disagree with this statement. I think most spam/fake/bot accounts are made by users who already have a Steem account, and it is very easy for those of us who already have some SP to create a new account. The slow sign-up process is only harming new users who want to join the site with their first account.

They get flagged and will eventually have little reputation on here. And how’d you know it’s not someone just commenting on your post saying ‘I’m a bot’ to make you think That? It’s a reverse psychology thing, to make you think if you upvote their comments or follow them that you’re going to be able to generate income faster. I ignore all bot comments and often flag them

They get flagged and will eventually have little reputation on here

And then the main account can just undelegate their SP and create a new bot in 20 seconds. At this point it is extremely easy to create lots of spambots without any real problems, since you can just dump all the downvotes bots anyway.

You seem to have a lot more info than myself so I have decided to follow you :) thanks for replying! Have an awesome day and week!

Thank you! Have a nice week yourself, @cryptattoo!

Had to apply multiple times before it seemed to be working at all. Then had to wait a week. This alone can cause people to go elsewhere :-/

Yeah, it can be very problematic for users who don't have a lot of patience. But a fix is coming in the next hardfork, so at least that's good news :) The bad news is that no one knows when the next hardfork is planned..

I do agree. i understand a few days maybe 3 to 5 working days but my case was 2 weeks so straight away I thought that's going to create a retention problem. Most people nowadays would forget they even signed up to something that long after unless they were like really eager like myself. I have created capture pages for the people i invite so at least i can automate some educational emails in between the waiting period.

It will most likely be fixed when Hardfork 20 is released, but who knows when that will happen..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69747.29
ETH 3747.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78