Steem Social - Easily Share SteemIt Posts and Data Analytics - Budget Proposal

in #budget6 years ago (edited)

What is Steem Social?

The main purpose of the app is to help promote SteemIt posts to various social media channels such as Facebook, Google Plus, LinkedIn, Pinterest, etc. And at the same time it will provide a simple analytics of the shared posts depending on the data availability of the APIs from these channels. We will also create metrics to rank posts according to the number of likes, comments, and shares gathered.


Source: Bitcoin News

The idea was inspired by existing applications that allow users to post to different social media channels from one application. But for this project, we will only be managing the posts that we can pull from the SteemIt API and share them to different channels. This app will serve as a medium to easily share SteemIt posts and at the same time create shared posts that are visually appealing.

Why do we need Steem Social?

If you've noticed, sharing SteemIt posts to other channels was problematic. Take a look at this for example, when you share a post on Facebook, it will look like this.

As you can see, the post is not optimized to look good when shared, there are no thumbnails, titles and description. Facebook has provided meta tags to make the shared post a little bit visually appealing. However for SteemIt, they haven't made use of these tags, and besides we can't really expect SteemIt to provide all the unnecessary tags needed for every social media channel, though that would have been great.

This is where Steem Social comes in. Using APIs from different social media channels, we will be handling the sharing of SteemIt Posts. And at the same time, we will be providing simple analytics of the data that we can pull for the shared posts. The primary aim is to improve visibility of SteemIt.

Why do we need the funding?

In the next few weeks, I will be creating a Proof of Concept for this project. But in order to this, I will be needing some help with the initial costs to get started: 100 Steem/SBD would be great. The fund will be used to acquire domain and hosting, outsource some design works needed, and for the other costs that I will be needing for development. I will be personally working on this project, so it should cut off the costs, but still, I will be needing some help with the funding moving forward.

Road Map

  • Website (SteemIt Post Sharing, Charts for Analytics) - Responsive Design
  • Social Media API Integration (Facebook, Pinterest, Google Plus, LinkedIn, etc.)
  • Android / IOS application
  • Browser Plugin, for ease of sharing

As of the moment, the project seemed a bit too broad but the items above are the things that I am very much looking forward to achieve in this project. I will be working in Phases. For Phase I, I will start with SteemIt API and Facebook API. This will serve as a proof of concept, and should give us an idea on how the project will look in the next Phases.

As soon as I am done with Phase I, I will be creating a much more detailed update and overview of the project. From this, we should be able to create realistic estimates as to how we can direct this project.

Who am I?

I am Severino Lorilla Jr, in real life. But you can call me shoganaii in SteemIt or at Discord.
I have been actively working with social media related applications in the past, mostly are Facebook Applications. I have a wide range of experience working with APIs from Google, Twitter, Instagram, LinkedIn, Spotify, etc. With my experience and skill set, I believe I have what it takes to deliver this project.
For further info, you can check my LinkedIn Profile.

Comments are greatly appreciated. If you need further information from me, you can email me at [email protected].

Cheers!

Sort:  

I believe there are already other apps that perform this function - check out Streemian, Zapier, Buffer, etc. I personally used Zapier for some time already. Reaching other social media sites with my posts is not my intention as much as it is de-centralization. I would rather just drop the likes of Twitter and fb as there is no real reward there. Exposing Steemit to others is one thing, getting the masses to move is another. If you really need social media attention, then an interactive Steem project such as SteemThat just might be the answer.

Hi @retiredinsamar. Thanks for dropping by and for the feedback.

I have checked the apps that you mentioned but most of them are not the same with I am trying to build here. I apologize that I haven't really added detailed information of what I am trying to do. But the idea is simple, make sharing posts to other known social media channels such us Facebook, Google Plus, and make some analytics on how your SteemIt posts shares are performing. Will also create plugins that will add the sharing mechanism to each posts at Steemit. Yes, there are no rewards when you share posts to other platforms, but there will be much visibility for SteemIt. Hoping that through this effort more people will join our community.

You have the best of intentions and here's wishing you much success.

You have a good idea of implementation, I support you, brother. I will follow it closely.

Already started with the development. Stay tuned for updates. Thanks.

Hello! I've noticed that I often post on Facebook, and I get what you're referring to, considering that the post is visually unattractive. It also happens, when I post some times in Discord's chat, since the main image of my post does not appear. I therefore find your project interesting and productive, and I know that with the participation of the Steemian community, it will achieve the required success. Greetings.

Thank you so much for the support. Hoping to make this a reality in soon.
Cheers!

wow a great idea, it is very easy to post steemit to other social media with just this one application, hopefully fast ready and we can use to menshare our post to other media with simple and very easy

Thank you so much for the support sir.
Looking forward to working on this project.
Keep posted. Cheers!

Well sir, I can only support,
hopefully smoothly and success continues

interesting project,,, I support it!! what can I do!

perfect, but if attached with a photo that supports in every paragraph tente more interesting again. success awaits you @shoganaii

yes would have been better.. this is just a rough draft though, as I am still in the process of creating the pages and the mock ups.. will make a more detailed update with photos once I start with the development.
thanks a lot for the support.
Cheers!

This is something Steemit will desperately need to improve its user base. Good luck my dude.

Glad that you also see this need.
Hopefully, I will be able to make this a reality soon.
Thanks for the support. Cheers!

Great initiative! Full support

Thank you @djlethalskillz.
Greatly appreciate the support.
Cheers!

You have a very interesting initiative. I wish you success with your project.

Thanks for the support @zenkly.
Cheers!

Thank you @shoganaii for the information may be mere for me and for all..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69386.82
ETH 3714.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85