Weird Bugs | The Masked Hunter

in #bugs6 years ago

So my wife was freaked out by a bug recently. She wanted me to 'take care of it.' Usually that means bug death.


However, I don't usually kill bugs unless they are wood ticks or mosquitoes. So I scooped it up in a tissue and carried him outside. We keep our house clean, but I guess we don't spend the time to wash our bugs. I thought he was just...really dusty and dirty. But apparently this is what these bugs do.


They secrete (I love that word) a sticky substance that makes dust and debris stick to it. That's its camouflage.

Works pretty well. He looks like a portable dust bunny.

But he's called the Masked Hunter, a member of the assassin bug family. I didn't even know there was an assassin bug family.






Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://www.negativereaction.com/2018/07/25/weird-bugs-the-masked-hunter/

Sort:  

Congratulations @anathema! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Steem blockchain survived its first virus plague!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69450.75
ETH 3678.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81