Disappointed in the Burstcoin community - Warning, rant incoming

in #burstcoin7 years ago

I'm going to be honest. I was really rooting for this coin. I like the idea behind it. I like the fact that anyone can mine it with the extra space on their hard drives. I like the potential of the asset exchange. I like the low fees for trading. I like the crowdfunding. So, as you can see, there are many things to like about it.

I'm a web developer, and I was ready to get stuck in building websites and apps centred around the coin, in order to get more people involved. I still might, because a part of me still believes in the coin. But something very disturbing came to my attention recently. It seems there was some manipulation with the price about a week ago. Apparently there were people in the community trying to keep the price low. I think it had something to do with the asset exchange. Whatever, I don't care. I absolutely despise crap like this.

The other thing I noticed is that there are far too many over-inflated egos (from the devs) operating in that community. It's off-putting, and will kill the coin faster than anything else. When you create something like this, you need to separate yourself from it in order to give it the best chance of growing. I don't understand why people don't see this. Walk the heck away and let the thing grow organically, for heaven's sake.

Okay, I've said my piece. A word to anyone thinking of promoting use of this coin, or building (good) websites around it: Stay away from those forums. Trust me, you don't ever want to be a part of that community.


Picture from Wikipedia.

Sort:  

Congratulations @dame-lily! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @dame-lily! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @dame-lily! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 71239.75
ETH 3686.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75