Finding My "Why"and Creating a Mission Statement

in #business6 years ago (edited)

I am in the process of dramatically changing my life from a professional point of view. I am moving from an office based job in the manufacturing sector to a job as a commercial drone pilot and photographer/videographer. This article explains why that is and what I hope to achieve. The images I have included hopefully illustrate the contrast between the two professions.

(Image: Steel Processing Recoiler)
Recoiler B&W.jpg

The first half of my working life has been great, particularly my most recent job. The people are motivated and driven to achieve success and it is a fantastic environment in which to work. In fact, with the changes to their machinery that they are in the process of making I believe that they are on the verge of achieving some tremendous things and I wish them every success.

(Image: Steel Slit Coil)
2008_August Slit Coil 02357.jpg

So why leave all that behind?

As you would imaging this is a question I have thought long and hard about and the only honest way to answer it is to say that I had ambitions that could not be fulfilled by following the career path that I was on. Namely, the desire to create video and photographic content and show it to the world. If I didn’t act upon that instinct I felt that I ran the very real risk of living a life filled with regret.

How on earth was I going to make that work?

Once I had accepted that these ambitions resided within me I had to grapple with how on earth I could earn a living and more importantly have a purpose that would motivate me for the long term. The desire to take photographs and capture and edit film would only get me so far. I needed a strong “why”, a higher purpose if you like.

Then the realisation hit me

Then it dawned upon me. Twitter, Facebook, LinkedIn, YouTube, Instagram… the list goes on and it had quickly overwhelmed me. There I was sat at my desk in the office, trying to juggle a multitude of diverse tasks but neglecting a significant area of our business that could supply us with massive opportunities because I was short on time and I was not in a position to generate the quality and variety of content that would enable us to achieve our online goals.

I concluded that I could not be the only one feeling that way and realised that the photographic skills and, more recently, drone piloting skills I had developed were perfectly suited to solving that problem.

What does the online world crave?

The online world craves good quality, varied content that is provided on a consistent basis and I was in a position to provide that kind of service. I also realised that online marketing is a significant untapped resource for many businesses that is resulting in a multitude of missed opportunities.

There is a cost to producing superb content but the cost of not acting is much greater than you imagine

My mission has therefore evolved into a desire to enable businesses to maximise their online potential. Yes there is a cost to producing great content, whether it be in time or physical outlay, but there is also a cost to not acting that is much greater than you first imagine.

The opportunities that can be generated in the online world are significant and the only limit is our imagination. I look forward to helping as many people and businesses as I can achieve their online goals. Thanks for taking the time to read this article.

Sort:  

Good read and you definitely have your goals and ideas worked out, looking forward to reading more of your journey.

Thank you, I appreciate you taking the time to comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65992.78
ETH 3014.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75