Maximize Your Returns Online With Authentic Community Building

in #business6 years ago

Building Community and the Importance of Participation in Social Networks

Build Community.jpg

I’ve written recently about the importance of taking that first step into online marketing and social media marketing in particular. I’ve described the massive opportunities that have presented themselves to those willing to embrace the online world. However, once you’ve taken that step, what does that mean? What can you expect?

Social media and the online world are very similar to the physical world

This fact is often overlooked yet it makes total sense when you actually think about it. The emergence of social media was built upon the basic human desire for social interaction. Many people work hard to produce great content that is truly outstanding, publish it onto their preferred social media platform and then sit back and wait for interested parties to flood in with likes, comments and requests for work.

I’m certain that from time to time there are examples of when this has happened but they are very firmly in the minority. In the majority of cases, interest in what we have to offer starts with members of our own community. In the social space, as in the physical world this is nurtured through human interaction.

What does this mean in practice?

In practice this means two things:

  1. Regularly create and publish great content. Namely, content that adds value in some way or another to your audience.
  2. It’s a two way process, in order for you to gain interest and feedback on what you are publishing you must be actively doing the same for other members of that community. In practice, this means liking, commenting on and sharing other people’s content.

Be authentic

Make sure that you interact on social media platforms in the same way that you would in person; take an interest, ask questions and be prepared to listen. Most of all though, be authentic and true to who you or your company is. People are increasingly savvy online and can see through insincere or automated responses.

Back it up in the physical world

The online world is important but don’t neglect real world networking opportunities. In person interaction will expand your network at a rate greater than you first expect.

It will take time

In many ways this is the most difficult bit. Be prepared for things to take time and commit to a long term strategy that you review at regular intervals. Now you might get lucky and have something go viral but real long lasting value will be built over time. If that sounds difficult that’s because it is. In the end though, don’t we want it to be that way? We want the benefits to be reserved for the most creative and the most persistent because most people won’t be prepared to go as far as we are willing to go.

Good luck.

Sort:  

This was a nice read!

"It will take time" - Totally agree. My schedule is a bit hectic at the moment and I can't dedicate that much time to networking and reading through lots of content. But I know that's the only real way to build a strong following!

Sadly, I can't really visit Steemit while I'm at work, because I don't want my account to be visible on the work network. I wouldn't want my customers or my employers finding & reading my blog.

I hope to dedicate more time to Steemit soon!

"Back it up in the physical world" - This is really important. Many people neglect this but it's your network that gets you places! I'm a firm believer in networking and I regularly try to pursue worthwhile networking opportunities. Plus, I enjoy interacting people that are further than me in life, because it drives me to succeed and push myself to get where I want to be!

Thank you very much for commenting @soul-thru-da-ink
Having read some of your posts your content is good so you deserve every success and i'm sure it will come. Your last post in particular was very interesting to me.

I'm glad you picked up on the importance of backing it up in the real world. You have taken it further by writing about surrounding yourself with successful people. This is great advice for me so thank you.

Thanks! I hope to focus on producing better quality content and trying to post at a minimum of once per week. More posts, if time permits!

Looking forward to reading more of your content soon! Take it easy

Same to you and good luck

Great piece of content John and very sound advice too.

Food for thought for many people out there. Nice post, upvote

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65035.33
ETH 2950.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66