My experience with different family dynamics as an entrepreneur

in #business6 years ago (edited)

Hi everyone, it has been a long time since my previous post as I have been doing marketing and learning alot about it but today I want to talk about how I have been treated differently by my parents more so my mother. Before I decided to stop going to university, everything was normal. When I started my journey as an entrepreneur, I would get lightly sarcastic remarks which showed that my parents did not take me seriously. This got worse as months got by. I would occasionally get guilt shamed saying that she invested alot of money into me meaning I need to follow her every word. The flaws of this type of parenting is better explained in the video I linked below.

During the months starting March 2018 to October 2018, the saracastic remarks became regular belitting comments to me saying that I am not good enough to run a business. I started registering my business officially at March 2018. I would get advice on how to run a success business from my parents yet their biggest achievement was running a restaurant which had to close down after 2 years. These were the months when my parents did not know that I was doing 1 subject instead of full time university.

At a day in October 2018, I told my mother that I was going to stop going to university. Things changed irreversibly.
The amount of trash talk, guilt shaming I received increased. During that uneventful day, I was threatened by my mother to be kicked out of the house by getting a solicitor. This is the hostile response for my decision but in the end, this threat was just a false flag in order to bait me back into university which clearly didn't work. After that day, my mother said horrible things such as "You are not my son" or "A dog is better to look after than you". This was the action of a first generation chinese parent who is firing back just because she didn't get her way.

It is 9/11/2018 as I post this blog. My mother's resentment towards me increased because I don't fit into her ideal chinese child. I know that even when I become successful with my own method, I still won't get the recognition because its not by the method of a stereotype involving a uni degree and a job. At this point since not going to university, I am loving every minute of it. I have stopped trying to compromise with her since the day I registered my business. She will always be stuck in the past.

Here is a video which nails the parenting style of my chinese mother. He does a far better explanation of 1st generation chinese parents.

Anyways thanks for reading this post. This is longer than my usual posts. On the side note, I have built my website which you can check out and I added my profile picture as I think its a good time to do it. Stay tuned for more updates.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62622.67
ETH 2944.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61