Small Business Saturday in Virginia

in #business5 years ago

I have lived in Virginia for 12 years now and I try to support the local economy as often as I can so “Small Business Saturday” is right up my alley! We have quite a few local businesses here that I choose to purchase from rather than the large corporate stores. I plan on going home to New York for Christmas next month to visit family so I had quite a few people to shop for and now everything that I needed to buy is purchased.

We have local craft and antiques dealers here that I frequent because when I support them I know that I am supporting families that have bills to pay and are fueling their passions rather than supporting corporate needs to build bigger stores or pay for executive travel. I believe in small and emerging businesses since I have helped to start 22+ businesses that have gone on to be successful over the years and another 15 that have failed.


Photo by Charisse Kenion on Unsplash

Business Lessons

Each business that I have helped start has taught me so many lessons and given me a purpose in life that has helped me to passionately reach out to others and collaborate on projects that I wouldn’t have otherwise been able to build on my own by myself.

The cool thing about living in this area is that there are quite a few pop up stores in local malls that offer one-of-a-kind crafts or handmade items that bring a variety of items unlike what you buy in big department stores. Plus, you know you are supporting the local economy and local artists. I have made quite a few friends just by shopping at local pop ups over the years and I love watching them create their work by watching the creative process on social media.


Photo by Artem Bali on Unsplash

Pop Ups & Bootstrapping

Pop up shops allow start up businesses to test out the waters of business without having to secure rent on a space long term. You can test out your business idea or theory on a small scale without having a need for too much overhead upfront. Almost every single business that I have started has been bootstrapped from the beginning and started with as few overhead costs as possible.

Putting out money before you are making money is not the best way to start a business but so many people are convinced that you have to start a business that way.

Do you support small businesses or do you prefer to buy from chain stores or online? I would love to hear your thoughts on business and how best to support the local economy!

Thanks for reading!

Ivy

Sort:  

I'm guilty of supporting chain stores, I literally believe they have high-quality products. However having read your article, I need to change my perspective since I own a simple business too so if everyone thinks that way then I will not have the market for my products haha!

Thanks Ivy, great article here.

I still shop at chain stores for some things because I live in a city and we have A LOT of big stores here. But, I try to shop at small shops as often as I can if they sell the items that I am looking for. And sometimes you find unique items at small shops that you may not find at the larger stores. It gives me a warm and fuzzy knowing that I am supporting someone's dream of owing their own business, too. :)

Woow, @ivyriane great thinking. Thank you for teaching me this!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62989.29
ETH 3048.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99