You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: When You've Had Enough - Quit!

in #business6 years ago

I needed this. I currently work a 9-5 and I'm in school. I've been through many experiences I no longer want to withstand. Today, I was challenged to think about what I truly want for myself. This post gave me clarity. Thanks!

Sort:  

I tried (unsuccessfully) to go to school and work full time at one point. I had to choose between an exam and a business opportunity that required me to be on the west coast immediately. I chose to take the risk and start my career.

I've learned that life is not something you live in the future - its what we're living right now. If "right now" sucks - then you should definitely re-evaluate things.

yeah, school sucks. I wish I had never spent any time in school, and that my parents had homeschooled me. :) I would have been smarter, less in trouble, and I would have developed my talents a lot quicker

Depends what you want to do.. Also depends on who's homeschooling you - in the wrong situation it would probably resemble the "Jungle Book" (which does sound more fun than school).

Yep, would be a lot more fun. There are two important things kids need to learn growing up. How money works, and how to work with people. You figure out these two, you can simply allow them to find out what they like to do, and then help them create a business around it. And they'll be set for life.

We've got 3 kids, and we are homeschooling. Enjoying the process too :D

That's really interesting.. I've read a lot about Americans doing homeschooling - but never a Norwegian. In Canada its almost non-existent.

Good luck with the homeschooling - I like your approach to teaching business fundamentals nice and early. School usually teaches kids how to get a job and make money - teaching them what to do with it is a significant advantage!

Thanks a lot @rgeddes ! Yeah, out of 60.000 kids in every age bracket, there are 600 that are homeschooled. About 1 percent. We enjoy it, and I'm glad that it is still legal in Norway. Many European countries have outlawed it. If that would be the case in Norway, we would have to move.

I really believe schooling is a waste of time, but learning is not. You just have to spend time learning things that you are passionate about. We're excited to be part of the process of teaching our kids to read and write. Not many parents use that luxury.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64449.70
ETH 3164.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87